Fashion Industry Gamification: Collection Based On Popular Video Games

18 November 2019 Fashion Industry Gamification: Collection Based On Popular Video Games

Video games are taking over the world! At least, the world of stylish clothes and design. Super Mario Bros Converse Shoes, Metal Gear Collection, and gaming items by fashion houses. What about the other collaborative projects invented by designers and game developers?

Designers and brands develop exclusive clothes and shoes themed on video games, support esports athletes, and even produce virtual gaming stuff. Certain fashion houses use characters of popular gaming franchises to promote their new collections.

Louis Vuitton: virtual models and up-to-date gaming things

In 2019, League of Legends developers announced its cooperation with Louis Vuitton Fashion House. The French brand has designed a special suitcase for the game, containing the Cup for the LoL champion. Besides, Louis Vuitton is going to create individual gaming items for the virtual world and release a capsule collection based on the online game. This is not the first time that the brand works together with game developers.

League of Legends Louis Vuitton

In 2016, the fashion house chose the Final Fantasy character as the representative of one of its collections. It was Lightning that inspired designers for making a spring-and-summer collection and boosted it afterwards. Louis Vuitton dedicated the whole gallery on its website to Final Fantasy XIII dressed in branded clothes. Reportedly, brand representatives selected her as a symbol of a strong and brave woman.

Earlier, game characters also served as models: in 2012, they were depicted in Prada attires on Arena Homme+ Magazine pages. Final Fantasy related such a promotion to its twenty-fifth anniversary (indeed, the first game was launched in Japan in 1987). An impressive date and an excellent opportunity to draw the world’s attention to itself.

 Prada Final Fantasy

Moschino collection styled after The Sims

Famous for its funny and spectacular design, Moschino Fashion House created The Sims collection: it hit the market in spring 2019. Jeremy Scott, Moschino’s Creative Director, stressed that transferring certain characters of the well-known game to the real world was truly amazing.

The collection includes familiar and distinctive accessories allowing gamers to turn into The Sims characters. For example, Moschino produced earrings in the form of the very same green crystals – Plumbob (flying over characters’ heads). Moreover, the collection has festive attires of the Sims world.

Moschino серьги Plumbob

By the way, designers have not neglected virtual characters: The Sims 4 and The Sims Mobile allow putting on Moschino’s branded sweatshirt featuring a bunny.

The Sims 4 Moschino

Previously, the fashion house applied gaming and pop culture themes in its collections. In 2015, it issued the Super Mario Bros collection.

 Super Mario Bros Moschino

Stylish shoes adapted from video games

Supra designed an exclusive sneaker collection devoted to the Assassin's Creed game in 2016. The partnership resulted in three unique models of athletic shoes: Stacks II, Scissor, and Skytop II. Assassin's Creed sneakers were a limited edition rapidly bought up by trendy persons and gamers.

A well-known brand, Converse, also decided to collaborate with game developers: along with Nintendo, the company introduced the Super Mario Bros collection. It was an old and conventional case study: stylish sneakers entered the market in 2011. Similar shoes were available only in Japan.

converse Super Mario Bros

The latest example of brand and developer cooperation is Puma and Need for Speed. Both teams agreed to issue special sneakers to the release of NFS Heat. They are called Hi OCTN x Need for Speed Heat. The novelty went on sale on November 5, while Need for Speed: Heat was released on November 8. The branded shoes cost €140.

Puma Need for Speed

Game-based clothes for the wide audience

In 2016, Vans and Nintendo presented a joint collection consisting of clothes, shoes, and accessories. All of these things were inspired by Nintendo games: e.g. Donkey Kong T-shirts and Nintendo Authentic sneakers. They could be purchased online from around the world.

Vans Nintendo

Uniqlo fabricated a separate collection due to Metal Gear action games. The T-shirt line was issued in 2012, commemorating the twentieth anniversary of the famous games. Everyone was able to acquire the series, as it was unlimited and sold in all Uniqlo stores.

Metal Gear Uniqlo

How fashion brands cooperate with esports athletes

The esports sector is interested to fashion brands as well. They support popular clubs and elaborate common projects. Fnatic and Hello Kitty are working on the mutual line of merchandise.

 Fnatic Hello Kitty

At the same time, FaZe Clan and Kappa are focusing on a fashion collection.

FaZe Clan Kappa

Branded shoes and clothes are used in esports and streaming activity as encouragements. Recently, Riot Games provided 16 popular Teamfight Tactics streamers with Nike Air personal sneakers. Each pair of shoes was labeled with the gamer’s nickname.

Teamfight Tactics Nike Air

Therefore, Riot Games decided to express its gratitude to participants of the Rise of the Elements tournament confined to the launch of Teamfight Tactics major addition. The update of League of Legends is titled Rise of the Elements.

Why do fashion houses collaborate with game developers?

The fashion industry and video games are not too far from each other. Design and external parameters are crucial to both sectors. People spend time, efforts and money to create their unique images either in reality or in the virtual space. Furthermore, gaming stuff lovers are as gambling as unique designer thing hunters.

It is no wonder that designers find cooperation with virtual world creators quite interesting and profitable. According to analysts, by 2025, the target audience of fashion houses will 45% consist of Z generation involving many gamers.

News

Roman Martynuk – Dream Dev Studio VR Co-Founder –... Roman Martynuk – Dream Dev Studio VR Co-Founder –...

On April 12, the six WEGAME gaming festival will feature a traditional awarding ceremony...

On April 12, the six WEGAME gaming festival will feature...

17 February 2020
Skyrim New Weapon and Start of Call of Duty: Moder... Skyrim New Weapon and Start of Call of Duty: Moder...

What will gamers find in an expansion of The Division 2 looter shooter? How...

What will gamers find in an expansion of The Division...

14 February 2020
1+1=1! WEGAME 6.0 Tickets at Special Price on St.... 1+1=1! WEGAME 6.0 Tickets at Special Price on St....

We are giving a super discount to all game and cosplay lovers on Saint...

We are giving a super discount to all game and...

13 February 2020

Геймификация модной индустрии: коллекции по мотивам популярных видеоигр

18 ноября 2019 Геймификация модной индустрии: коллекции по мотивам популярных видеоигр

Видеоигры захватывают мир! Как минимум мир модной одежды и дизайна. Конверсы в стиле Super Mario Bros, коллекции Metal Gear и предметы для игр от модных домов. На какие же еще совместные проекты хватило фантазии дизайнеров и разработчиков игр?

Дизайнеры и бренды разрабатывают эксклюзивные вещи и обувь по мотивам видеоигр, поддерживают киберспортсменов и даже выпускают виртуальные игровые предметы. Отдельные модные дома даже используют героев популярных игровых франшиз для рекламы своих новых коллекций.

Louis Vuitton: виртуальные модели и модные игровые предметы

Создатели League of Legends в 2019 году заявили о том, что собираются сотрудничать с модным домом Louis Vuitton. Французский бренд разработал для игры специальный чемодан, внутри которого находится кубок для победителя чемпионата LoL. Также Louis Vuitton планирует создать отдельные игровые предметы для виртуального мира и выпустить капсульную коллекцию по мотивам онлайн-игры. Это не первый раз, когда бренд сотрудничает с разработчиками игр.

League of Legends Louis Vuitton

В 2016 году модный дом выбрал лицом одной из своих коллекций персонажа популярной игры Final Fantasy. Им стала Молния, которая вдохновила дизайнеров на создание весенне-летней коллекции, а впоследствии сама же ее и рекламировала. Героине Final Fantasy XIII, одетой в брендовые вещи, была посвящена целая галерея на сайте Louis Vuitton. Представители бренда заявили, что выбрали ее как символ сильной и смелой женщины.

Герои игры и ранее «подрабатывали» моделями: в 2012 году они красовались в нарядах от Prada на страницах журнала Arena Homme+. Подобную акцию создатели Final Fantasy приурочили к двадцатипятилетнему юбилею франшизы (да-да, первая игра вышла в Японии еще в 1987 году). Впечатляющая дата и отличный повод в очередной раз напомнить миру о себе.

 Prada Final Fantasy

Коллекция Moschino в стиле The Sims

Известный своими забавными и яркими дизайнами модный дом Moschino создал коллекцию по мотивам The Sims: она появилась в продаже весной этого года. Креативный директор бренда Джереми Скотт отметил, что переносить в реальный мир отдельных персонажей известной игры было действительно захватывающе.

В коллекцию входят известные и узнаваемые аксессуары, благодаря которым геймер сам может частично стать персонажем The Sims. Например, Moschino создал серьги в виде тех самых зеленых кристаллов Plumbob (именно они летают над головами персонажей). Также в коллекцию входят праздничные наряды из мира симсов.

Moschino серьги Plumbob

Не остались обделены вниманием дизайнеров и сами виртуальные герои: в The Sims 4 и The Sims Mobile появилась возможность одеть персонажей в фирменную толстовку Moschino с изображением кролика.

The Sims 4 Moschino

Ранее модный дом уже обращался в своих коллекциях к теме игр и поп-культуры: в 2015 году он выпустил коллекцию в стиле Super Mario Bros.

 Super Mario Bros Moschino

Модная обувь по мотивам видеоигр

Компания Supra создала эксклюзивную коллекцию кроссовок по мотивам игры Assassin's Creed в 2016 году. По итогам сотрудничества появилось три уникальных модели спортивной обуви: Stacks II, Scissor и Skytop II. Кроссовки, на дизайн которых создателей вдохновила игра Assassin's Creed, были выпущены лимитированным тиражом, который быстро раскупили модники и геймеры.

Известный бренд Converse тоже решился на коллаборацию с разработчиками игр: они сотрудничали с Nintendo и выпустили коллекцию по Super Mario Bros. Это старый и довольно известный кейс – модные кеды начали выпускать в 2011 году. Купить такую обувь можно было лишь в Японии.

converse Super Mario Bros

Свежий пример сотрудничества бренда и разработчика – коллаборация Puma и Need for Speed. Обе команды договорились о том, что к релизу NFS Heat будут выпущены специальные кроссовки. Они называются Hi OCTN x Need for Speed Heat и уже появились в продаже 5 ноября, сам же релиз Need for Speed: Heat состоялся 8 ноября. Фирменная обувь, созданная в честь выхода новинки, стоит €140.

Puma Need for Speed

Одежда по мотивам игр для широкой аудитории

В 2016 году компании Vans и Nintendo выпустили совместную коллекцию, в которой были и предметы одежды, и обувь, и аксессуары. Все это было разработано по мотивам игр Nintendo, например, футболки Donkey Kong и кроссовки Nintendo Autentic. Купить предметы гардероба можно было через Интернет из любой точки мира.

Vans Nintendo

Отдельную коллекцию, посвященную экшнам Metal Gear, создала компания Uniqlo. Линейка футболок была выпущена в 2012 году и приурочена к двадцатилетию серии знаменитых игр. Купить их мог любой желающий, поскольку серия не была лимитированной, а одежда с принтами Metal Gear продавалась во всех магазинах Uniqlo.

Metal Gear Uniqlo

Как модные бренды сотрудничают с киберспортсменами

Направление киберспорта также привлекает внимание модных брендов: они поддерживают популярные клубы и создают с ними совместные проекты. Так, команда Fnatic и бренд Hello Kitty создают совместную линейку мерча.

 Fnatic Hello Kitty

По схожей схеме над разработкой коллекции одежды трудятся команда FaZe Clan с компанией Kappa.

FaZe Clan Kappa

Брендовая обувь и вещи также используются в сферах киберспорта и стриминга в качестве поощрения: недавно компания Riot Games наградила 16 популярных стримеров, играющих в Teamfight Tactics, персональными кроссовками Nike Air. На каждой паре красовался никнейм геймера.

Teamfight Tactics Nike Air

Таким образом Riot Games решила отблагодарить участников турнира Rise of the Elements, который был приурочен к выходу масштабного дополнения для Teamfight Tactics. Апдейт режима в League of Legends называется «Стихии набирают силу».

Зачем модным домам сотрудничать с разработчиками игр?

Индустрия моды и видеоигры – не такие уж и далекие друг от друга отрасли. И в той, и в другой одинаково важны внешние параметры и дизайн. Как и в реальности, люди в виртуальном мире вкладывают время, усилия и деньги на создание своего уникального образа. К тому же любители красивых игровых примочек так же азартны, как и охотники за уникальными дизайнерскими вещами.

Неудивительно, что дизайнерам интересно и выгодно сотрудничать с создателями виртуальных миров. Согласно прогнозам аналитиков, уже к 2025 году целевая аудитория модных домов будет на 45% состоять из представителей поколения Z, среди которых очень много геймеров.

Интересные новости

Отъявленный кошатник и основатель Cat&Cat Games Ко... Отъявленный кошатник и основатель Cat&Cat Games Ко...

Членом жюри премии WEGAME Awards на шестом фестивале гик- и гейм-культуры станет основатель Cat&Cat...

Членом жюри премии WEGAME Awards на шестом фестивале гик- и...

31 марта 2020
Основатель Beatshapers Алексей Меньшиков станет су... Основатель Beatshapers Алексей Меньшиков станет су...

Встречайте члена жюри WEGAME Awards – крутого разработчика, эксперта по VR и CEO в...

Встречайте члена жюри WEGAME Awards – крутого разработчика, эксперта по...

23 марта 2020
Регистрация номинантов WEGAME Awards продлена до 2... Регистрация номинантов WEGAME Awards продлена до 2...

Даты WEGAME 6.0 изменены – в этом году фестиваль пройдет 13-14 июня. Традиционное награждение...

Даты WEGAME 6.0 изменены – в этом году фестиваль пройдет...

18 марта 2020