How does one organize an eSports tournament? Presentation from Pavlo Kovalenko at WEGAME 3.0

18 May 2017 How does one organize an eSports tournament? Presentation from Pavlo Kovalenko at WEGAME 3.0

First day of WEGAME 3.0 presentations has been notable for the speech from Pavlo Kovalenko, the founder of Anima Unity eSports organization. Speaker shared his opinion on organization of eSports tournaments and gave advices to beginners. We’ve prepared the brief material summarizing his presentation in order to introduce the topic to WEGAME portal readers.

Before the start of the tournament preparations, one has to decide upon the format applied within the cyber tournament. It’d be easier and cheaper to choose online, but LAN events are far more upscale and can generate huge revenue. The most preferable and popular option would still be the mixed type of the game combining an online qualification round together with offline final.

Speaking of a team, expert told that it should include at least 3 specialists. Thus, a social media marketer, a judge, and a writer are a must. The judge would be a competent person when it comes to the chosen eSports event, in order to evaluate players’ results. This professional would be perfect to contact an eSports community.

Moviemaker would be a great addition to the team as well, benefiting the next aspect of the tournament that organizers have to keep in mind, namely the media coverage. Before, during and after the event, it’s necessary to create as many related content as possible, which would attract the audience, increase its interest, bringing in sponsors and partners.

Format of the media coverage includes:

  • news;
  • interviews;
  • highlights;
  • streaming;
  • stories;
  • broadcasting.

When all of the abovementioned components and organizational issues are addressed, one can start searching for sponsors. Focus on this at the end stage, as you have to provide the prearranged data in order to demonstrate that the project is lucrative. Sponsors of the cyber sports tournaments are generally aiming for PR goals. Think of the convenient advertising offers in advance (branding, sponsorship content, SMM support etc.)

Read more about various stages of video games development, based on presentations of Roman Samchuk and Pavlo Lenets at WEGAME 3.0.

News

Check Out TehnoTables for Gamers at WEGAME 6.0 Exp... Check Out TehnoTables for Gamers at WEGAME 6.0 Exp...

Exhibition area at WEGAME festival is not only cool stuff, gadgets and latest releases...

Exhibition area at WEGAME festival is not only cool stuff,...

26 February 2020
How to Win CS:GO Competitions: Sniper Lifehacks How to Win CS:GO Competitions: Sniper Lifehacks

Each Counter-Strike: Global Offensive team has a sniper. High hopes are placed on this...

Each Counter-Strike: Global Offensive team has a sniper. High hopes...

25 February 2020
Taras Tarasov – Ukrainian Game Development Legend... Taras Tarasov – Ukrainian Game Development Legend...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Taras Tarasov, an investor, businessman, and independent gaming...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Taras Tarasov, an investor,...

24 February 2020

Как организовать кибертурнир? По докладу Павла Коваленко на WEGAME 3.0

18 мая 2017 Как организовать кибертурнир? По докладу Павла Коваленко на WEGAME 3.0

В первый день лектория WEGAME 3.0 состоялось выступление учредителя киберспортивной организации Anima Unity Павла Коваленко. Спикер рассказывал об этапах организации eSports-турниров и давал советы начинающим. Мы подготовили ознакомительный материал по его докладу, чтобы раскрыть эту тему для читателей портала WEGAME.

Прежде чем начать подготовку к проведению состязания, необходимо решить, в каком именно формате вы хотите провести кибертурнир. Дешевле и проще будет устроить его онлайн, но LAN-события гораздо престижнее и способны принести больший доход. Самый оптимальный и распространенный вариант – смешанный тип соревнования с онлайн-квалификацией и офлайн-финалом.

Если говорить о команде, то она должна состоять как минимум из 3 специалистов. Обязательно нужен человек, пишущий тексты, SMM-маркетолог и судья. Под судьей подразумевается тот, кто достаточно квалифицирован в выбранной для турнира eSports-дисциплине, чтобы оценивать игру участников. К тому же именно этому члену команды предстоит заниматься всеми контактами с киберспортивным сообществом.

Не обязательно, но очень желательно добавить в коллектив еще и мувимейкера. Это будет полезно для следующего аспекта турнира, на который следует обратить внимание организаторам, – медиаосвещения. Перед, во время и после события необходимо создавать как можно больше связанного с ним контента, чтобы привлечь внимание аудитории. Повышенный интерес аудитории, в свою очередь, привлекает спонсоров и партнеров.

Форматы медиаосвещения:

  • новости;
  • интервью;
  • хайлайты;
  • стримы;
  • репортажи;
  • трансляции.

Когда все вышеперечисленные организационные моменты будут учтены, можно заняться поиском спонсоров. Уделить внимание этому пункту стоит в конце, так как придется предоставлять заранее подготовленные данные, чтобы доказать прибыльность проекта. Спонсорство киберспортивных турниров в основном преследует маркетинговые и PR-цели. Заранее позаботьтесь о том, чтобы ваше событие включало удобные рекламные предложения (брендирование, спонсорский контент, SMM-поддержка и др.).

Статью об этапах разработки видеоигр по докладам Романа Самчука и Павла Ленца на WEGAME 3.0 читайте здесь.

Интересные новости

Готовый набор для стриминга: Canon представила EOS... Готовый набор для стриминга: Canon представила EOS...

Многие начинающие стримеры сталкиваются с проблемой выбора подходящего оборудования и надолго зависают на этом...

Многие начинающие стримеры сталкиваются с проблемой выбора подходящего оборудования и...

02 июля 2020
Членом жюри WEGAME Awards станет руководитель льво... Членом жюри WEGAME Awards станет руководитель льво...

Встречайте нового члена жюри конкурса WEGAME Awards – руководителя львовского офиса Gameloft Романа Гармаша!...

Встречайте нового члена жюри конкурса WEGAME Awards – руководителя львовского...

08 апреля 2020
Отъявленный кошатник и основатель Cat&Cat Games Ко... Отъявленный кошатник и основатель Cat&Cat Games Ко...

Членом жюри премии WEGAME Awards на шестом фестивале гик- и гейм-культуры станет основатель Cat&Cat...

Членом жюри премии WEGAME Awards на шестом фестивале гик- и...

31 марта 2020