Secrets on how to turn a hobby into a business from Mariya Karpenko

07 June 2018 Secrets on how to turn a hobby into a business from Mariya Karpenko

How can a usual cosplayer get profit out of their hobby and become a successful entrepreneur? A presentation of a judge at the cosplay show Mariya Karpenko shared the secrets at WEGAME 4.0.

Mariya Karpenko, also known as Fenix Fatalist, is a cosplayer and Founder at the FD Studio costume lab. The speaker has been engaged in this industry since she was 10. Within this period, she has created dozens of bright characters and even established own business. Her presentation at the stage of the open lecture hall of WEGAME 4.0 was dedicated to cosplay in particular and skills it develops.

What is practical benefit of cosplay?

According to Mariya Karpenko, cosplay motivates you for self-improvement, life-long learning, establishing a network of beneficial contacts and acquiring new skills to be used at work and monetized.

Here are only some of them:

  • sewing;
  • photography;
  • posing;
  • blogging;
  • post-production;
  • networking.

The speaker confessed that it took her several years to turn a hobby into a business. Sometimes she felt like dropping everything, but a desire to do something and develop appeared to be stronger. The key advantage of her hobby and related advertising was a wide range of new acquaintances:

“We have a very important word – networking. Get acquainted with everyone, tell them about your skills. Why is it needed? Because it’s the main part of our career development. Even the most famous people who currently work at such giants as Blizzard went through the same path.”

From a hobby to a profitable business: how to make money on cosplay

So, what is a career ladder from a beginning cosplayer to an expert in some sphere? Costume design is surely the most popular direction. Not an easy way, but a combination of a talent and a desire can bring significant financial benefit. Mariya Karpenko herself is developing her own fashion line based on The Witcher, underwear in particular.

Another popular direction (particularly, those who are engaged in gaming development) is community management. The majority of cosplayers know how to interact with an audience and develop their organizing skills so that they can carry out events. Moreover, such skills help establish a network of needed contacts and learn preferences of an audience.

Other directions are also possible:

  • advertising;
  • event organization;
  • content sale.

Mariya Karpenko reckons that cosplayers should find their niche:

“Do what you are best at. Shield master? Craft them. Sewing master? Sew more. Good at wigs? Continue making them. Everything is in demand. Everything may work in your favor and bring pretty good financial benefit.”


Read more: WEGAME 4.0 brightest cosplayers

News

HyperX: we built gaming PC and broke several dozens of old keyboards

This year, a Sponsor of the eSports tournament at WeGame was the US brand of gaming components and accessories –...

12 June 2018

Secrets on how to turn a hobby into a business from Mariya Karpenko

How can a usual cosplayer get profit out of their hobby and become a successful entrepreneur? A presentation of a...

07 June 2018

Winners of the cosplay contest at WEGAME 4.0

Participants of the impressive cosplay show at the fourth WEGAME amazed the audience and jury with their costumes, but only...

01 June 2018

Как превратить хобби в успешный бизнес? Секреты от Марии Карпенко

07 июня 2018 Как превратить хобби в успешный бизнес? Секреты от Марии Карпенко

Как можно получить прибыль от своего хобби и превратиться из обычного косплеера в успешного предпринимателя? Гости WEGAME 4.0 узнали на выступлении одной из судий косплей-шоу Марии Карпенко.

Мария Карпенко, также известная как Fenix Fatalist, – косплеер и основатель лаборатории костюмов FD Studio. Мария занимается косплеем уже 10 лет. За это время она создала десятки ярких образов и даже развила свой бизнес. Ее выступление на сцене открытого лектория WEGAME 4.0 было посвящено именно косплею и тому, какие навыки он развивает.

Чем полезен косплей на практике?

Как превратить хобби в успешный бизнес? Секреты от Марии Карпенко

По мнению Марии Карпенко, косплей - это стимул работы над собой, мотивация к постоянному обучению, налаживанию многих полезных контактов, приобретению новых умений, которые впоследствии можно применять в работе и монетизировать.

Вот лишь некоторые из них:

  • шитье;
  • фотография;
  • позирование;
  • блоггинг;
  • постпродакшн;
  • нетворкинг.

Мария призналась, что путь от превращения хобби в работу у нее занял несколько лет. Иногда хотелось всё бросить, но желание что-то делать и развиваться было сильнее. Одним из ключевых моментов развития своего увлечения и рекламы приобретенных навыков лектор считает установку контактов с другими людьми из комьюнити:

«Есть очень важное слово – нетворк. Знакомься со всеми, ходи и рассказывай, какой ты классный и что умеешь. Зачем это нужно? Потому что это самый главный момент в развитии вашей карьеры. Даже самые известные люди, которые на сегодняшний день работают с такими гигантами как Blizzard, изначально были такими же ребятами, как вы».

От хобби до прибыльного бизнеса: как заработать на косплее

Какие же существуют пути профессионального развития от начинающего косплеера до эксперта в какой-либо области? Самым популярным направлением считается, конечно, создание костюмов. Это сложно, но при наличии таланта и желания дает ощутимую финансовую отдачу. Сама Мария Карпенко разрабатывает собственную линию одежды по мотивам Ведьмака, в частности – нижнее белье.

Вторая глобальная сфера применения своих знаний (особенно для тех, кто занимается геймдевом) – это community-менеджер. Большинство косплееров умеют работать с аудиторией, благодаря своему хобби развивают организаторские способности, могут проводить ивенты, имеют обширную сеть нужных контактов и, главное, знают потребности публики.

Также можно работать в таких направлениях:

  • реклама;
  • организация мероприятий;
  • продажа контента.

Главное, считает Мария Карпенко, найти свою нишу:

«Делайте то, что у вас получается лучше всего. Умеете делать щиты – делайте их. Умеете шить – шейте. Умеете заниматься париками – занимайтесь этим. Все востребовано. И все может выводить вас в плюс и создать неплохую финансовую подушку для жизни».


Читайте также: самые яркие косплееры WEGAME 4.0

Интересные новости

Сборная Украины по PES, minor-турнир в Буковеле, с... Сборная Украины по PES, minor-турнир в Буковеле, с...

Киберспортивные турниры по различным дисциплинам проходят по всему миру, и Украина не исключение. Мы...

Киберспортивные турниры по различным дисциплинам проходят по всему миру, и...

06 декабря 2019
Развитие памяти и мультизадачности: чем полезны ви... Развитие памяти и мультизадачности: чем полезны ви...

Современные видеоигры не только открывают перед нами новые миры, но и помогают развиваться. Улучшение...

Современные видеоигры не только открывают перед нами новые миры, но...

05 декабря 2019
Тест на знание WEGAME. Проверь свои силы Тест на знание WEGAME. Проверь свои силы

Готовясь к WEGAME 6.0, мы вспоминаем все предыдущие фестивали и их основные фишки. Чтобы...

Готовясь к WEGAME 6.0, мы вспоминаем все предыдущие фестивали и...

03 декабря 2019