Who and How Earns on Esports?

08 January 2020 Who and How Earns on Esports?

Esports industry is a promising and profitable niche where not only professional esports players can earn a living. To whom does esports bring real money? What are the ways that allow making a profit in this field?

Esports professions

Thanks to the annual growth of the number of Internet users, as well as the increase in the number of competitive games, esports has quickly turned into a multibillion industry. Only the laziest gamers have not heard that advanced players of popular disciplines can earn big money. However, there is a number of other professions, representatives of which make a profit in this niche. Let us review popular and profitable options for earning money in the esports industry.

Esports players

Who and How Earns on Esports?

International tournaments offer prize funds that amount to numbers ending in a pleasing number of zeroes. Smaller competitions also offer quite decent rewards. Overall, the income of an esports player always depends on professionalism and popularity. There are several ways to monetize your unique gaming skills.

  • Participation in tournaments.
  • Advertising.
  • One-time PR offerings.

Salaries of professional players depend on their skills, discipline, media coverage, and achievements. After joining the team and signing the official contract, the esports player gets a salary formed of not only prize fund money but also sponsorship investments and revenue from the sales of merch products. Depending on these factors, the income may range greatly: from $3,000 to $10,000 per month.

Additionally, popular esports players can monetize thanks to their online followers. For example, using brand activities – by posting photos on social media where they wear branded clothes, hold an energy drink of a certain label or devices from the required manufacturer.

Commentators

Who and How Earns on Esports?

Commentators of esports events earn similarly to sports broadcasters – many of them are on the staff of esports studios, work for certain esports leagues. Besides, this profession also allows making money through the monetization of your audience.

Several studios specialize in the coverage of esports events (StarLadder, WePlay! Esports, Maincast). Broadcasts are run online, which significantly increases the audience reach, which in turn influences the income. The peculiarity of the commentator’s profession is that the task is not simply describing what is happening on the screen.

A professional has to understand the subtleties of the game, tactics, and nuances, and the ideal option is to be a gamer. Like players, representatives of this profession strive to participate in global tournaments, for example, International Dota 2 Championships. Stepan “DonStepan” Shulga reports that foreign English-speaking commentators earn $1,000 per day but salaries are significantly lower in the CIS.

Streamers and video bloggers

Who and How Earns on Esports?

Streaming can bring you revenue that exceeds the income of many esports players: naturally, it depends on the level and popularity of the streamer. YouTube and Twitch are widely used for video blogging and streaming. For example, a very popular Fortnite player and streamer nicknamed Ninja who has 10 million followers on Twitch earned $5 million per year before he moved on to Mixer. Popular Twitch streamers from the CIS are Dendi, Sharishaxd, S1mple, SilverName. Many of those who make attention-getting streams have or had a connection to the iconic Na’Vi team.

Popular streamers can monetize on affiliate program ads: the bigger the audience the user has, the bigger the sum he will receive for views of affiliate videos. Donations (direct money transfers to the streamer from followers) are also a popular way to raise funds. Subscriptions, sponsor advertising, and native advertising bring a good profit as well.

Other professions in esports

Who and How Earns on Esports?

With the arrival of a growing number of teams, esports disciplines, and tournaments, the industry requires more specialists involved in the back office operations: marketers, managers, HR, and PR specialists. Here, the background in the basic specialty is required, as well as the interest in esports. Vacancies of esports platforms and organizations can be found online, for example, in the Telegram channel Esports x Gaming Jobs.

How to start earning money in esports

Who and How Earns on Esports?

It is impossible to become a professional esports player in one day. Everyone starts from small things by training every day and gradually increasing the level. You can do it on your own or turn to an esports school in one of the esports organizations.

In our country, educational services are offered by the esports football academy FINT and esports Windigo Academy. Besides, there are plans to open an esports master’s degree program at the National University of Ukraine on Physical Education and Sport.

There are special tournaments for amateurs and semi-pros, where professionals are not admitted. Such championships allow leveling up, as well as demonstrating your skills and having chances for being invited to a serious team.

Apart from team games, there are single-player disciplines (FIFA, Hearthstone, etc.), where players can get rewards for first places and streams.

Some players that once were members of esports teams shifted to streaming. For example, the former professional CS:GO player Shroud. He is more successful in streaming and earns more than his former teammates.


Follow what is going on in esports and gaming in the news section!

News

Na'Vi's Founder Plans to Change the Concept of Ukr... Na'Vi's Founder Plans to Change the Concept of Ukr...

Last week, the Internet was flooded with the news saying that the new owner...

Last week, the Internet was flooded with the news saying...

30 July 2020
Release Dates of New Seasons of The Witcher, The B... Release Dates of New Seasons of The Witcher, The B...

The coronavirus pandemic has a significant impact on series production, although not such a...

The coronavirus pandemic has a significant impact on series production,...

24 July 2020
Dwellers of Night City Street: Cyberpunk 2077 Cosp... Dwellers of Night City Street: Cyberpunk 2077 Cosp...

Cyberpunk 2077 by CD Projekt RED was announced back in 2012 and its release...

Cyberpunk 2077 by CD Projekt RED was announced back in...

15 July 2020

Кто и как зарабатывает на киберспорте?

08 января 2020 Кто и как зарабатывает на киберспорте?

Индустрия esports – перспективная и прибыльная ниша, зарабатывать в которой могут не только профессиональные киберспортсмены. Кому же киберспорт приносит реальные деньги и какие способы получить прибыль в этой сфере существуют?

Киберспортивные профессии

Благодаря ежегодному росту интернет-аудитории, а также увеличению числа игр с соревновательным принципом киберспорт быстро стал многомиллиардной индустрией. О том, что продвинутые игроки в популярных дисциплинах могут зарабатывать большие деньги, не слышал разве что самый ленивый геймер. Но, кроме них, существует еще ряд профессий, представители которых получают прибыль в этой нише. Рассмотрим популярные и выгодные варианты, как зарабатывать в индустрии esports.

Киберспортсмены

Киберспортсмен, геймер

Призовые на международных турнирах исчисляются суммами с приятным количеством нулей, состязания попроще тоже предлагают вполне достойное вознаграждение. В целом доход киберспортсмена всегда будет зависеть от его профессионализма и популярности. Существует несколько способов монетизировать свои уникальные геймерские способности.

  • Участие в турнирах.
  • Реклама.
  • Разовые PR-акции.

Зарплаты профессиональных игроков зависят от их скилла, дисциплины, медийности и достижений. Попав в команду и заключив официальный контракт, киберспортсмен получает зарплату, которая формируется не только из призовых, но также и из спонсорских денег и доходов от продажи мерча. Разброс по уровню заработка, исходя из этих факторов, довольно большой: от $3000 до $10 000 в месяц. популярные киберспортсмены могут монетизировать свою онлайн-аудиторию. Например, с помощью brand-активностей – выкладывая в соцсетях фотографии в одежде определенного бренда, с энергетиком конкретной марки или с девайсами от нужного производителя.

Комментаторы

Киберспортивные комментаторы

Комментаторы киберспортивных событий зарабатывают так же, как и обычные спортивные комментаторы – многие из них состоят в штате esports-студий, работают в конкретных киберспортивных лигах. Кроме того, в этой профессии также возможен заработок с помощью монетизации своей аудитории.

Существует несколько студий, которые специализируются на освещении киберспортивных событий (StarLadder, WePlay! Esports, Maincast). Трансляции ведутся в Интернете, что существенно увеличивает охват аудитории, от которого зависит и заработок по результату. Особенность профессии комментатора состоит в том, что необходимо не просто описывать события на экране.

Профессионал должен разбираться в особенностях игры, тактиках и нюансах, в идеале – сам быть геймером. Так же, как и игроки, представители этой профессии стремятся попасть на турниры мирового уровня: например, The International по Dota 2. По словам Степана «DonStepan» Шульги, зарубежные англоязычные комментаторы зарабатывают $1000 в день, но зарплаты на просторах СНГ значительно ниже.

Стримеры и видеоблогеры

Стример и видеоблогер

На стриминге можно получать прибыль, превышающую доход многих киберспортсменов: естественно, это зависит от уровня и популярности самого стримера. Для видеоблогинга и стриминга используются платформы YouTube и Twitch. Например, популярнейший игрок в Fortnite стример Ninja с 10 млн подписчиков на Twitch зарабатывал $5 млн в год, до того как перешел на Mixer. Популярные twitch-стримеры из СНГ: Dendi, Sharishaxd, S1mple, SilverName. Многие из тех, кто делает яркие и привлекающие внимание трансляции, имеют или имели отношение к легендарной команде Na’Vi.

Получать деньги популярные стримеры могут с рекламы партнерской программы площадки: чем больше аудитория юзера, тем большую сумму за просмотр партнерских роликов он получит. Популярен и такой вид получения прибыли, как донат – прямое перечисление денег стримеру от аудитории. Также приносят немалые деньги подписки, спонсорская реклама и нативка.

Другие профессии в esports

Кто и как зарабатывает на киберспорте?

С появлением все большего числа команд, соревновательных киберспортивных дисциплин и турниров отрасль требует больше специалистов, которые занимаются внутренней кухней: маркетологов, менеджеров, экспертов в HR и PR. Для подобной работы необходимо обладать опытом по базовой специальности, а также интересоваться киберспортом. Вакансии от esports-платформ и организаций можно найти в Сети: например, в телеграм-канале Esports x Gaming Jobs.

Как начать зарабатывать в киберспорте

Кто и как зарабатывает на киберспорте?

Стать профессиональным киберспортсменом за один день невозможно: все начинают с малого, тренируясь каждый день и постепенно повышая свой уровень. Можно делать это самостоятельно или обратиться в киберспортивную школу на базе одной из esports-организаций.

В нашей стране образовательным направлением занимаются в академии киберфутбола FINT и киберспортивной Windigo Academy. Также планируется открытие магистратуры по киберспортивному направлению в Национальном университете физического воспитания и спорта Украины.

Существуют специальные турниры для любителей и семи-про, куда не допускаются профессионалы. На таких чемпионатах можно прокачаться, а также продемонстрировать свои умения с перспективой быть приглашенным в серьезную команду.

Впрочем, играть можно не только в определенном киберспортивном коллективе, есть и одиночные дисциплины (FIFA, Hearthstone, др.). При этом получать прибыль реально как за призовые места и непосредственно работу киберспортсмена, так и за стримы.

Некоторые игроки, которые выступали в составе esports-коллективов, ушли чисто в стриминг. Например, бывший профессиональный киберспортсмен по CS:GO под ником Shroud. Именно на этом поприще он добился большего успеха и зарабатывает лучше, чем его бывшие коллеги по команде.


Следи за происходящим в мире киберспорта и гейминга в разделе «Новости» !

Интересные новости

PS Store дарит скидки на 260 игр, а EGS распродает... PS Store дарит скидки на 260 игр, а EGS распродает...

Какие крутые игры можно отхватить на распродажах от PlayStation Store и когда геймеры получат...

Какие крутые игры можно отхватить на распродажах от PlayStation Store...

28 февраля 2020
Покупай билеты, получай подарки! Gift Marathon фес... Покупай билеты, получай подарки! Gift Marathon фес...

Любишь подарки? У нас их – валом! Покупая билеты на WEGAME 6.0, ты автоматически...

Любишь подарки? У нас их – валом! Покупая билеты на...

27 февраля 2020
Зацени специальные столы для геймеров TehnoTable в... Зацени специальные столы для геймеров TehnoTable в...

Выставочная зона на фестивале WEGAME – это не только крутой стафф, техника и новинки...

Выставочная зона на фестивале WEGAME – это не только крутой...

26 февраля 2020