Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name”

08 February 2017 Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name”

Our press service was lucky to meet Marianna De Mort, a cosplay show judge at WEGAME 2.0 festival! The hero of our interview is a cosplayer, director and TV presenter, master of creating unique and colorful costumes literally from improvised materials. We asked her to tell more about her passion and took some good photos. Enjoy!

Interviewer Lidiya Tsinenko (L.T.)

L.T.: Marianna, tell us how and when you became interested in cosplay?

Marianna: The funny thing is that I had no idea how my hobby was called for a long time. I was creating costumes, characters, but there was no definition for my activity.

Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name” - 1

I grew up in a family of artists, so I used to draw since childhood. Then I enrolled the Kyiv National University of Culture and Arts to study movie and television directing. We had tasks to shoot short films within the scope of our term thesis. We had to come up with our own scenario, find stage props and create characters.

I always wanted to shoot gloomy and mystical or sci-fi movies. I could not find anything useful for my movies in our property rooms so we had to prepare everything on our own. Our educational scholarship was not enough to buy necessary costumes and decorations, that is why I had to create a lot of stuff with my own hands.

Everything was made from improvised materials: boxes, old clothes, different decor details found in dormitory. For example, once I needed human bones and skulls so I came up with an idea to make them from flour and water - I put the dough into required shape and covered it with varnish. Straightjacket for one of the characters was sewed of old bed sheets.

Another important interim stage for me was the passion for gothic subculture, which has gained popularity in 2007. I started creating costumes for myself, attending gothic parties, making themed performances, participating in photo shoots.

Image from «Bram Stoker’s Dracula» movie

Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name” - 2

I found out about the existence of cosplay in 2010. I was receiving lots of questions from people in social networks about my experience in cosplay. Then I decided to google this unfamiliar term, and realized that I’ve been cosplaying for several years without even realizing it. Over time, I left gothic stuff, but cosplay has become an important part of my life.

Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name” - 3

L.T.: You have been sewing costumes for yourself already for many years. Have you ever received orders to sew something for others?

Marianna: Yes, I often receive orders for making costumes for video and photo shoots and various stage props as well. Once I was asked to make Alyoshenka – an alien-like doll - for some performance. I still have it, without a head though: a friend borrowed it for a photo shoot, but taking it to the public transport was not a good idea.

When the trolley bus door ripped off doll's head, the driver did not want to stop and then it was too late to save it.

Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name” - 4

In general, since the times of my education, many people used to ask me for help in the creation of costumes and stage props, and it still happens now.

Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name” - 5

L.T.: What are the materials you use the most?

Marianna: I use everything that is at hand: different boxes, plastic bottles, bags and even toilet paper. The latter was once even used for creation of the Inmortan Joe mask, a character from the "Mad Max" movie. I recall that it took me a while to search for life hacking ways of its creation on YouTube, but there were only complex and expensive methods. Then suddenly I came up with an idea of cutting the shape of the six-liter plastic bottle and gluing it over with shredded toilet paper mixed with PVA glue. I glued cardboard instead of metal parts and painted all of it.

Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name” - 6

It turned out to have quite an impressive look.

Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name”  - 7

The main thing is to cover the top with acrylic paint and then any material can gain the desired look. Cardboard, plastic and cellophane after the painting process are almost unrecognizable.

Also, since the gothic past I made it a habit to look for second-hand parts of the wardrobe that would be useful for creating a character. Nurse costume from the "Silent Hill" game, which I wear now, is a gown that I bought on the secondhand market, then cut short and sewed on in a different way. The desired color was achieved through soaking in coffee - it makes the tissue old looking.

Marianna de Mort: “I was into cosplay even before knowing its actual name” - 8

The continuation of our conversation with Marianna and all lifehacks of cosplay costumes craft will be published on our website soon!

News

501st Legion in Ukraine: the dark side performs good deeds

501st Legion, quite a young, but pretty active division of the worldwide organization of Start Wars fans, was an exhibitor...

12 July 2018

Tiger Way studio: “WEGAME AWARDS incredibly boosted out motivation”

This year, Tiger Way studio that won the Best Mobile Game nomination at WEGAME AWARDS 2017, attended our festival (April...

11 July 2018

5 coolest and most anticipated games for PC in 2018

The most anticipated, high-profile and remarkable games that have been already released or are going to be released on PC...

06 July 2018

Марианна де Морт: «Я занялась косплеем раньше, чем узнала, как называется мое увлечение»

08 февраля 2017 Марианна де Морт: «Я занялась косплеем раньше, чем узнала, как называется мое увлечение»

Нашей пресс-службе удалось встретиться с судьей косплей-шоу фестиваля WEGAME 2.0 Марианной Де Морт! Героиня нашего интервью – косплеер, режиссер и телеведущая, а также мастер, создающий уникальные и яркие костюмы буквально из подручных материалов. Мы попросили ее подробнее рассказать о своем увлечении и сделали интересные фото. Наслаждайся!

Интервьюер: Лидия Цененко (Л.Ц.)

Л.Ц.: Марианна, расскажи о том, каким образом и когда ты заинтересовалась косплеем?

Марианна: Я занялась этим очень давно. Самое забавное, что еще долго даже не знала, как называется мое увлечение. То есть создавала костюмы персонажей, воплощала образы, но никакого определения этому не искала.

С детства рисую, выросла в семье художников. Когда пришло время, поступила в Институт культуры (КНУКиИ) учиться на режиссера кино и телевидения. У нас были задания снимать короткометражные фильмы в качестве курсовых работ. Требовалось самостоятельно придумать сценарий, найти реквизит, создать образы героев.

Мне всегда хотелось снимать мрачные мистические или научно-фантастические фильмы. Для моих картин в реквизиторской обычно ничего не находилось, поэтому необходимо было все подготавливать самостоятельно. На стипендию купить недостающие костюмы и декорации нереально, поэтому мне приходилось создавать многое вручную.

Делалось все из подручных средств: использовала коробки, старую одежду, искала по общежитию разные антуражные мелочи. К примеру, мне как-то понадобились человеческие кости и черепа – тогда пришла идея изготовить их с помощью муки и воды: придала тесту нужную форму и покрыла лаком. Смирительную рубашку для одной из героинь шила из старой простыни.

Еще одним важным промежуточным этапом для меня было увлечение готической субкультурой, набравшей популярность в 2007 году. Тогда я начала создавать костюмы для себя, ходить на готик-пати, ставить тематические перформансы, участвовать в фотосессиях.

Образ из фильма «Дракула Брэма Стокера»

Что существует косплей, узнала уже где-то году в 2010-м. Мне тогда начали часто писать в соцсетях, спрашивая о том, как давно я косплею. Тогда я решила «погуглить» это незнакомое слово и поняла, что уже несколько лет как косплею, ничего об том не подозревая. Со временем готика из моей жизни ушла, а вот косплей остался ее важной частью.

Марианна де Морт: «Я занялась косплеем раньше, чем узнала, как называется мое увлечение» - 3

Л.Ц.: Ты многие годы шьешь для себя. А приходилось ли делать костюмы на заказ?

Марианна: Да, у меня часто заказывают костюмы для видео- и фотосъемок, а также различный реквизит. Как-то попросили сделать куклу инопланетянина, похожего на Алешеньку, для какой-то реконструкции. Он до сих пор у меня, но уже без головы: подруга одалживала на фотосессию, но, перевозя его в общественном транспорте, не нашла понимания. Когда голову куклы оторвало дверцей троллейбуса, водитель останавливаться не захотел, а потом было поздно ее спасать.

А вообще еще со времен института ко мне обращались за помощью в создании костюмов и реквизита, да и сейчас это совсем не редкость.

Марианна де Морт: «Я занялась косплеем раньше, чем узнала, как называется мое увлечение» - 5

Л.Ц.: С какими материалами работаешь чаще всего?

Марианна: Использую все, что есть под рукой: различные коробки, пластиковые бутылки, пакеты, даже туалетную бумагу. С помощью последней когда-то создала маску Несмертного Джо, персонажа фильма «Безумный Макс». Долго, помню, искала на YouTube лайфхаки по ее изготовлению, но находила лишь сложные и дорогостоящие способы. Потом вдруг пришла идея вырезать из шестилитровой баклажки форму и обклеить ее кусками измельченной туалетной бумаги, смешанной с ПВА. Вместо металлических деталей приклеила картон – и все это покрасила.

Получилось очень эффектно.

Марианна де Морт: «Я занялась косплеем раньше, чем узнала, как называется мое увлечение» - 7

Главное – покрыть сверху акриловой краской, и любому материалу можно придать необходимый вид. Картон, пластик и целлофан после покраски просто не узнать.

А еще со времен «готичного» прошлого взяла себе за привычку искать на секонд-хенде разные детали гардероба, которые могли бы пригодиться для создания образа. Костюм медсестры из игры «Сайлент Хилл», в котором я сейчас, – это медицинский халат, купленный на секонде, обрезанный и перешитый. Нужный цвет удалось придать благодаря замачиванию в кофе – это делает ткань более старой на вид.

Продолжение беседы с Марианной и больше лайфхаков по созданию косплей-костюмов жди в скором времени на нашем сайте!

Интересные новости

Членом жюри WEGAME Awards станет руководитель льво... Членом жюри WEGAME Awards станет руководитель льво...

Встречайте нового члена жюри конкурса WEGAME Awards – руководителя львовского офиса Gameloft Романа Гармаша!...

Встречайте нового члена жюри конкурса WEGAME Awards – руководителя львовского...

08 апреля 2020
Отъявленный кошатник и основатель Cat&Cat Games Ко... Отъявленный кошатник и основатель Cat&Cat Games Ко...

Членом жюри премии WEGAME Awards на шестом фестивале гик- и гейм-культуры станет основатель Cat&Cat...

Членом жюри премии WEGAME Awards на шестом фестивале гик- и...

31 марта 2020
Основатель Beatshapers Алексей Меньшиков станет су... Основатель Beatshapers Алексей Меньшиков станет су...

Встречайте члена жюри WEGAME Awards – крутого разработчика, эксперта по VR и CEO в...

Встречайте члена жюри WEGAME Awards – крутого разработчика, эксперта по...

23 марта 2020