PlayStation 5 VS Xbox Series X: Main Facts about Long Expected Consoles

08 July 2020 PlayStation 5 VS Xbox Series X: Main Facts about Long Expected Consoles

Around seven years have passed from the release date of the eighth generation of the most popular consoles PlayStation and Xbox. It is finally high time for the launch of a new generation, which both Sony and Microsoft promise by the end of this year. Let’s delve into the known information, analyzing facts about long expected consoles.

Release date and price

Note that companies have not announced accurate release dates for PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X yet. However, both consoles are promised to arrive in the holiday season 2020. As we are talking about Christmas holidays, many people expect the release to take place in December. But, taking into account past experience, consoles can be rolled out in November.

The situation with the price is not clear as well. As for PS5, there are different rumors with figures ranging from $499 to $699.99. Users found a page on the Amazon UK site that offered to pre-order the console for £599.99 ($760), but later company representatives said it was a mistake. There is also unconfirmed information about the price of Xbox Series X. It will cost supposedly $400 and a simpler configuration can cost you $200.

While such large global online retailers as Play-Asia and Amazon are promptly hiding their pre-order pages for PS5, one of the Ukrainian online stores already has prices in hryvnia for both products.

Naturally, such awareness of our fellow nationals seems doubtful but is worth mentioning.

Technical characteristics

 

PlayStation 5

Xbox Series X

CPU

8x Cores; 3.5 GHz AMD Zen 2

8x Cores; 3.8 GHz AMD Zen 2

GPU

10.3 TFLOPS AMD RDNA 2

12.0 TFLOPS AMD RDNA 2

Memory

16 GB GDDR6

16 GB GDDR6

Storage

825 GB Custom SSD

1 TB Custom NVMe SSD

Resolution

up to 8K

up to 8K

Frame rate

up to 120 fps

up to 120 fps

Optical drive

4K UHD Blu-ray

4K UHD Blu-ray

Memory bandwidth

560 GB/s

448 GB/s

Storage media

Solid State Drive with fast load time, 1 TB

NVMe SSD Drive with fast load time, 825 GB

 

As one can see from the characteristics above, both consoles support 8K resolution, have high frame rate, powerful processors, and fast SSDs. Offered resolution greatly exceeds capabilities of modern TV-sets and monitors (4К), and is a good support for the further development of technologies.

Besides, both consoles will support ray tracing, a graphics rendering technique. It will allow light and reflection to look almost photorealistic thanks to the super frequent reflection of light rays from the surface of objects. An embedded SSD is an important update for the new generation of consoles that will allow greatly reducing load time.

Overall, Xbox Series X has somewhat better characteristics, but it is not known yet whether the difference will be clearly noticeable in practice. Thomas Mahler – CEO of Moon Studios, whose game publisher is Microsoft Game Studios, – expressed an opinion that the difference between consoles could be narrowed down to the choice between speed and quality of images.

Data transfer rate of Sony console reaches 5.5 GB/s, which is almost two and a half times more than that of the competitor. At the same time, Xbox Series X will provide better frame rate at high resolutions, which guarantees a smoother and higher quality image on the TV display or monitor.

Thomas Mahler believes that the difference in the load time is not very important for users, but visual characteristics of Microsoft console will give it an advantage.

Design

Design PlayStation and Xbox

There have been many arguments among gamers concerning the design of devices. The subjective nature of the issue does not allow making firm conclusions concerning which device looks better, but we can cite several widespread opinions.

Xbox Series X has a more classical style – black color, straight lines, and rectangular case. Supporters of its design note that the console will easily suit any interior. Opponents say that the console has a boring design and even mark its resemblance to a public ashtray.

PlayStation 5 looks futuristic with its white and black case of non-standard shape with blue lighting. Some people compare its design with spacecraft from science-fiction films, and others think it to be garish and impractical.

PS5 is available in two versions – with a disk drive and without (Digital Edition). The second one looks a little bit more attractive, as the lines of its case are more flowing. It is expected to cost less.

Games

Games PlayStation and Xbox

Hot exclusive games became one of the strengths of Sony consoles long time ago. The company follows the approach called “content is king”. During the presentation of PS5, the company shared a number of exclusives, the brightest of which are Horizon: Forbidden West, Returnal, Gran Turismo 7, Sackboy and Ratchet & Clank.

It is also known that the new-generation console will support 100 top PS4 games at the time of its release. However, details have not been revealed yet.

The main exclusives for Xbox Series X are Halo Infinite and Saga Senua: Hellblade II. But, it should be noted that the content for Microsoft consoles is not fully exclusive, as these games are also available on PC (Windows).

Games originally developed for the new console or totally revamped for the same goals will be called Optimized for Xbox Series X. Microsoft has already named 22 optimized games including Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, Cyberpunk 2077, Destiny 2, DiRT 5, and FIFA 21.

Other details

It is worth mentioning some other famous facts about new consoles. For example, Sony announced the following accessories for PlayStation 5:

  • controller DualSense with a charging station that allows installing two devices at a time;

  • wireless headphones Pulse 3D with an additional plastic tape to hold better on the head;

  • HD camera, required for PlayStation VR headset and useful for streaming;

  • PS5 Media Remote – a multimedia controller.

Another important peculiarity of Sony console is the support of VR and compatibility with the abovementioned PSVR headset. Over 200 virtual reality games are available for the device.

Xbox Game Pass subscription service remains the main strong card of Microsoft. And the new offering Game Pass Ultimate unites three subscriptions at once – Game Pass, Xbox Live Gold and Game Pass for PC. Each of them costs $10 per month and together they will cost just $15 per month.


Read more of interesting things about new games and devices in the news section on our website!

News

Na'Vi's Founder Plans to Change the Concept of Ukr... Na'Vi's Founder Plans to Change the Concept of Ukr...

Last week, the Internet was flooded with the news saying that the new owner...

Last week, the Internet was flooded with the news saying...

30 July 2020
Release Dates of New Seasons of The Witcher, The B... Release Dates of New Seasons of The Witcher, The B...

The coronavirus pandemic has a significant impact on series production, although not such a...

The coronavirus pandemic has a significant impact on series production,...

24 July 2020
Dwellers of Night City Street: Cyberpunk 2077 Cosp... Dwellers of Night City Street: Cyberpunk 2077 Cosp...

Cyberpunk 2077 by CD Projekt RED was announced back in 2012 and its release...

Cyberpunk 2077 by CD Projekt RED was announced back in...

15 July 2020

PlayStation 5 VS Xbox Series X: основные факты о долгожданных консолях

08 июля 2020 PlayStation 5 VS Xbox Series X: основные факты о долгожданных консолях

Около семи лет прошло с момента выхода восьмого поколения популярнейших игровых консолей PlayStation и Xbox. И вот наконец пришло время выхода нового поколения, которое и Sony, и Microsoft обещают уже к концу этого года. Предлагаем подробнее разобрать уже известную нам информацию, «разложив по полочкам» факты о долгожданных приставках.

Дата релиза и стоимость

Сразу обозначим, что точную дату выхода пока не сообщили ни для PlayStation 5, ни для Xbox Series X. Однако обе консоли обещают в праздничный сезон 2020 года. Так как речь идет о рождественских праздниках, многие предполагают, что релиз состоится в декабре. Однако, если учитывать предыдущий опыт, приставки могут выпустить уже в ноябре.

В ситуации с ценой ясности не больше. Касательно PS5 ходят различные слухи, озвучены цифры в $499 и $699,99. На сайте Amazon UK также была обнаружена страница с предзаказом консоли за £599,99 (около $760), но позже представители компании назвали это ошибкой. И о стоимости Xbox Series X есть неподтвержденная информация. Предположительно, она составит $400, а версия консоли в более доступной конфигурации – Xbox Series S – может обойтись в $200.

А пока такие крупные мировые онлайн-ритейлеры, как Play-asia и Amazon, спешно скрывают страницы с предзаказом PS5, на сайте одного из украинских магазинов уже красуются цены в гривнах на обе новинки.

PlayStation и Xbox цена

Естественно, такая осведомленность наших соотечественников выглядит сомнительно, но стоит своего упоминания.

Технические характеристики

 

PlayStation 5

Xbox Series X

CPU

8-ядерный; 3,5 ГГц AMD Zen 2

8-ядерный; 3,8 ГГц AMD Zen 2

GPU

10,3 терафлопс AMD RDNA 2

12,0 терафлопс AMD RDNA 2

ОЗУ

16 ГБ GDDR6

16 ГБ GDDR6

Память

825 ГБ кастомный SSD

1 ТБ кастомный NVMe SSD

Разрешение

до 8K

до 8K

Частота обновления кадров

до 120 кадров/с

до 120 кадров/с

Привод оптических дисков

4K UHD Blu-ray

4K UHD Blu-ray

Пропускная способность памяти

560 ГБ/с

448 ГБ/с

Место хранения

Solid State Drive с высокой скоростью загрузки на 1 ТБ

NVMe SSD Drive с высокой скоростью загрузки на 825 ГБ

 

Как можно увидеть по характеристикам выше, обе консоли поддерживают разрешение 8K, имеют высокую частоту обновления кадров, мощные процессоры и быстрые SSD. Представленное разрешение сильно превышает возможности доступных сейчас телевизоров и мониторов (4К), но станет хорошим подспорьем для будущего развития технологий.

Также обе приставки будут поддерживать трассировку лучей, захватывающую технику рендеринга графики. Это позволит освещению и отражению выглядеть практически фотореалистично благодаря сверхчастому отражению лучей света от поверхности объектов. Важное обновление для нового поколения приставок – встроенный SSD-накопитель, который позволит значительно снизить время загрузки, увеличив ее скорость.

В целом характеристики Xbox Series X немного лучше, но будет ли сильно заметно различие «на деле», пока неизвестно. Томас Малер – CEO в Moon Studios, издателем игр которой выступает Microsoft Game Studios, – высказал мнение, что разницу между консолями можно свести к выбору между скоростью и качеством изображения.

Скорость передачи данных в приставке Sony достигает 5,5 ГБ/с, что почти в два с половиной раза больше, чем у конкурента. При этом Xbox Series X обеспечит лучшую кадровую частоту при высоких разрешениях, что гарантирует более плавную и качественную картинку на экране телевизора или монитора.

Томас Малер считает, что разница в скорости загрузки игр не особо важна для пользователей, а вот визуальные характеристики консоли Microsoft дадут ей преимущество.

Дизайн

Дизайн PlayStation и Xbox

Касательно внешнего вида устройств среди геймеров завязалось немало споров. Субъективность вопроса не позволяет делать однозначные выводы о том, какое из них выглядит лучше, но мы можем привести несколько распространенных мнений.

Xbox Series X выполнена в более классическом стиле – черный цвет, прямые линии, прямоугольный корпус. Сторонники ее дизайна отмечают, что консоль легко впишется в любой интерьер. Противники же называют дизайн приставки скучным и даже отмечают ее внешнюю схожесть с общественной пепельницей.

PlayStation 5 выглядит футуристично – бело-черный корпус нестандартной формы с синей подсветкой. Одни сравнивают ее дизайн с космическими кораблями из фантастических фильмов, другие же считают его аляповатым и непрактичным.

Стоит также отметить, что PS5 представлена в двух вариантах – с дисководом и без (Digital Edition). Второй выглядит несколько привлекательнее, так как линии корпуса более плавные. Предполагают, что он будет стоить дешевле.

Игры

PlayStation и Xbox

Горячие игровые эксклюзивы уже давно стали одной из сильнейших сторон консолей Sony. И компания не отступает от позиции Content is King. Во время презентации PS5 был представлен ряд эксклюзивов, самыми яркими из которых можно назвать Horizon: Forbidden West, Returnal, Gran Turismo 7, Sackboy и Ratchet & Clank.

Также известно, что приставка нового поколения на момент релиза будет совместима со 100 топовыми играми для PS4. Однако детали пока не разглашали.

Главные эксклюзивы для Xbox Series X – Halo Infinite и Saga Senua: Hellblade II. Но здесь следует отметить, что полноценной эксклюзивности контент для приставок Microsoft не имеет, так как эти игры доступны и на ПК (Windows).

Игры, изначально разработанные под новую консоль либо полностью переработанные с теми же целями, будут обозначены как Optimized for Xbox Series X. Microsoft уже назвала 22 оптимизированные игры, включая Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, Cyberpunk 2077, Destiny 2, DiRT 5 и FIFA 21.

Другие подробности

Стоит также упомянуть и другие известные факты о новых консолях. Так, для PlayStation 5 были анонсированы следующие аксессуары:

  • контроллер DualSense с зарядной станцией, позволяющей установить два девайся одновременно;

  • беспроводные наушники Pulse 3D с дополнительной пластиковой лентой для лучшего удерживания на голове;

  • HD-камера, необходимая для шлема PlayStation VR и полезная для проведения стримов;

  • PS5 Media Remote – мультимедийный пульт управления.

Нужно отметить еще одну важную особенность приставки Sony – поддержка VR и совместимость с гарнитурой PSVR, упомянутой выше. При этом для устройства доступно более 200 игр в виртуальной реальности.

Главным же козырем Microsoft остается игровая подписка на Xbox Game Pass. А новое предложение Game Pass Ultimate объединяет в себе сразу три подписки – Game Pass, Xbox Live Gold и Game Pass для ПК. Каждая по отдельности стоит $10 в месяц, а вместе обойдутся всего в $15 в месяц.


Читайте больше интересного о новых играх и гаджетах в разделе «Новости»!

Интересные новости

Esports получил статус официального вида спорта: к... Esports получил статус официального вида спорта: к...

7 сентября 2020 года произошло важное событие для киберспортивной и гейминг-индустрии Украины. Esports на...

7 сентября 2020 года произошло важное событие для киберспортивной и...

15 сентября 2020
Косплей по сериалу «Ведьмак» от Netflix: Ренфри и... Косплей по сериалу «Ведьмак» от Netflix: Ренфри и...

Косплей по «Ведьмаку» очень популярен, и в Сети гуляет море как отличных, так и...

Косплей по «Ведьмаку» очень популярен, и в Сети гуляет море...

08 сентября 2020
Фестиваль WEGAME 6.0 переносится на апрель 2021 го... Фестиваль WEGAME 6.0 переносится на апрель 2021 го...

WEGAME 6.0 переносится на апрель 2021 года. Мы работали над программой и до последнего...

WEGAME 6.0 переносится на апрель 2021 года. Мы работали над...

02 сентября 2020