Winners of The International 2018 earn $11.2 m

27 August 2018 Winners of The International 2018 earn $11.2 m

One has determined the world’s new leader in Dota 2: OG, a European team earlier known as (monkey) Business. It surpassed all expectations of the eSports community and outplayed China’s PSG.LGD in the grand finale.

This year’s major Dota 2 – The International competition took place in the capital of Canada at the Rogers Arena Stadium. Within ten days, 18 strongest teams from all over the globe were competing with each other for the prize pool of The International 2018 – $25 million.

The winner of the eighth professional Dota 2 tournament was the OG team, which odds were initially estimated quite poorly by betting providers. According to the forecasts, OG should not have risen above the 15th place. However, the team entered the group A at the group stage, occupying the fourth position. Therefore, OG appeared in the Upper Bracket Seed of the playoff where the competition was based on the Double Elimination scheme, and then the team entered the grand finale.

Its competitor, China’s PSG.LGD team, was played in Lower Bracket Seed and, winning over Evil Geniuses, had good odds to gain the victory. The competition outcome was unknown to the bitter end as, following the results of four rounds, the score was equal to 2:2. It became clear who won The International 2018 only after the final, fifth competition: the OG squad outplayed PSG.LGD with the score of 3:2.

OG, the winner of The International 2018, received $11.2 million of the total tournament prize pool. Its grand finale rivals – PSG.LGD and Evil Geniuses – earned $4.1 m and $2.7 m, taking the third place.

The rest funds were allocated among the following squads: Team Liquid (4th place), Virtus.pro (5th place), Team Secret (6th place), VGJ.Storm (7th place), OpTic Gaming (8th place), Vici Gaming, Team Serenity, Winstrike Team and Mineski, TNC Predator (9–12th place), VGJ.Thunder, Fnatic and Newbee (13–16th place), Invictus Gaming and paiN Gaming (17–18th place).

The annual major Dota 2 tournament held by Valve has taken place for the eighth time. Besides the cash reward, the winning team receives the Aegis of Champions, a goblet that looks like a bronze and silver shield. next competition of The International will be held in August 2019 in Shanghai.

News

Beatshapers Founder Alexey Menshikov to Judge WEGA... Beatshapers Founder Alexey Menshikov to Judge WEGA...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Alexey Menshikov, a great developer, VR expert and...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Alexey Menshikov, a great...

23 March 2020
Registration to WEGAME Awards is Extended Till May... Registration to WEGAME Awards is Extended Till May...

Dates of WEGAME 6.0 have been changed – this year, festival will take place...

Dates of WEGAME 6.0 have been changed – this year,...

18 March 2020
Attention! New Dates of Registration to WEGAME 6.0... Attention! New Dates of Registration to WEGAME 6.0...

Due to rescheduling the game and geek culture festival for June 13-14, we are...

Due to rescheduling the game and geek culture festival for...

17 March 2020

Победители The International 2018 заработали $11,2 млн

27 августа 2018 Победители The International 2018 заработали $11,2 млн

Определен новый мировой лидер по кибердисциплине Dota 2: им признана европейская команда OG, ранее известная как (monkey) Business. Она превзошла все ожидания киберспортивного сообщества и обыграла китайскую PSG.LGD в гранд-финале.

Крупнейшее состязание по Dota 2 – The International – проходило в этом году в столице Канады на стадионе Rogers Arena. На протяжении десяти дней 18 самых сильных команд со всего мира сражались друг с другом за призовой фонд The International 2018 – $25 млн.

Победителем восьмого профессионального турнира по Dota 2 стал коллектив OG, шансы которого поначалу оценивались букмекерами довольно низко. Согласно прогнозам, OG не должны были подняться выше 15-го места, но уже на групповом этапе команда попала в группу А, заняв четвертую позицию. Таким образом, OG определили в верхнюю сетку плей-офф, где соревнование проходило по схеме Double Elimination, а затем коллектив вышел в гранд-финал.

Его соперник китайская команда PSG.LGD играла в нижней сетке и, одержав победу над Evil Geniuses, имела все шансы стать призером соревнования. Исход состязания не был известен до последнего, ведь по результатам четырех раундов счет сравнялся до 2:2, а кто победил на «Интернешнл 2018», стало ясно только после финального, пятого сражения: коллектив OG обыграл PSG.LGD со счетом 3:2.

Победитель «Интернешнл 2018» команда OG получила за призовое место $11,2 млн из общего фонда турнира. Ее соперники в гранд-финале PSG.LGD и Evil Geniuses, которые заняли третью позицию, заработали по $4,1 и $2,7 млн соответственно.

Остальные деньги разделили между собой команды Team Liquid (4-е место), Virtus.pro (5-е место), Team Secret (6-е место), VGJ.Storm (7-е место), OpTic Gaming (8-е место), Vici Gaming, Team Serenity, Winstrike Team и Mineski, TNC Predator (9–12 места), VGJ.Thunder, Fnatic и Newbee (13–16 места), Invictus Gaming и paiN Gaming (17–18 места).

Ежегодный масштабный турнир по Dota 2, который проводит компания Valve, прошел уже в восьмой раз. Кроме денежного поощрения, команда, ставшая победителем, получает Эгиду чемпионов – кубок в виде щита из бронзы и серебра. Следующее состязание The International состоится в августе 2019 года в Шанхае.

Интересные новости

Новое оружие в Skyrim и старт второго сезона Call... Новое оружие в Skyrim и старт второго сезона Call...

Что ожидает геймеров в расширении для лутер-шутера The Division 2? Как выглядит новый режим...

Что ожидает геймеров в расширении для лутер-шутера The Division 2?...

14 февраля 2020
1+1=1! Билеты на WEGAME 6.0 по специальной цене в... 1+1=1! Билеты на WEGAME 6.0 по специальной цене в...

Всем влюбленным в игры и косплей мы дарим суперскидку в честь Дня св. Валентина....

Всем влюбленным в игры и косплей мы дарим суперскидку в...

13 февраля 2020
Встречай судью косплей-шоу WEGAME 6.0 – Марианну Д... Встречай судью косплей-шоу WEGAME 6.0 – Марианну Д...

У каждого порядочного гик-фестиваля должны быть свои традиции. Наша – приглашать в состав жюри...

У каждого порядочного гик-фестиваля должны быть свои традиции. Наша –...

12 февраля 2020