5 most scary horror games with the cosmic setting

15 June 2017 5 most scary horror games with the cosmic setting

Fear is an inevitable part in the life of every human being. But if some of us fear the global warming, the Fourth World War, or the rapid change of the currency rate, suffering from these stressful emotions, others just watch trash slashers or play horror games, enjoying the experience. The second option seems a bit more appealing, isn’t it?

Have a look at the selection of five scary horror games with the space-based setting that can help players enjoy their fear.

Prey

This is the latest cosmic theme game with an amazing graphics. It was launched on May 5 on all key platforms. The main character is a victim of scientific experiments, coming to consciousness on a space ship captured by deadly aliens. Invaders from another planet can morph into various objects and apply telekinesis.

Prey is basically a shooter, but it’s much more complex, as there’s no unlimited ammo supply. Player has to improvise along the way, and think of various tricky tactics to survive.

Stasis

Unhasting game with a pretty trivial beginning, but unusual gameplay. This is not just another shooter or survival, but a true quest in a space horror style. Hero wakes up at the deserted dark space ship, having no clue what happened to his colleagues.

In Stasis, you don’t have to constantly run across the location and shoot enemies or hide from them. Player solves uneasy puzzles in order to win.

Dead Space

Released in 2008, Dead Space also has a sequel and a prequel. Each of them could scare the bejesus out of you. Plot of the first game tells the story of a hero trying to save himself while combating necromorphs in a space-like environment. The atmosphere of hopelessness and despair, the look of monsters and their victims gives the creeps and disgust.

Alien: Isolation

Game style fully corresponds with a classic Alien movie. The main character is a daughter of Ellen Ripley. Trying to find out more details about her mother’s destiny, she arrives to the space station with a Xenomorph on it. As one can not kill the Alien, gameplay forces player to run and hide from the monster.

Doom 3

The first and partially the second parts from the series also correspond with this theme, but only Doom 3 completely unfolds the subject. Instead of the standard aliens, player encounters the things somewhat similar to Christian mythology demons.

Fantastic setting coincides with mystical environment. Those not frightened by the xenomorphs, would face flying burning skulls and hordes of zombies.

News

501st Legion in Ukraine: the dark side performs good deeds

501st Legion, quite a young, but pretty active division of the worldwide organization of Start Wars fans, was an exhibitor...

12 July 2018

Tiger Way studio: “WEGAME AWARDS incredibly boosted out motivation”

This year, Tiger Way studio that won the Best Mobile Game nomination at WEGAME AWARDS 2017, attended our festival (April...

11 July 2018

5 coolest and most anticipated games for PC in 2018

The most anticipated, high-profile and remarkable games that have been already released or are going to be released on PC...

06 July 2018

Пятерка жутких horror-игр в космическом антураже

15 июня 2017 Пятерка жутких horror-игр в космическом антураже

Так или иначе, страх присутствует в жизни каждого. Только если одни боятся глобального потепления, Четвертой мировой или скачка курса доллара, страдая от этих переживаний, то другие просто смотрят трешевые слэшеры или играют в хорроры, получая удовольствие. Второй вариант выглядит привлекательнее, не так ли?

Представляем подборку из 5 жутких horror-игр в космическом антураже, которые помогут насладиться собственным страхом.

Prey

Это новейшая тематическая игра с потрясающей графикой. Она вышла 5 мая на всех основных платформах. По сюжету главный герой – жертва научного эксперимента – приходит в себя на космическом корабле, захваченном опасными пришельцами. Инопланетные захватчики способны превращаться в различные предметы и используют телекинез.

Игра Prey обладает чертами шутера, но она гораздо сложнее, ведь здесь нет бесконечного запаса патронов. Для ее прохождения нужно импровизировать, придумывать различные хитрые тактики, чтобы помочь выжить своему герою.

Stasis

Неторопливая игра с довольно банальной завязкой, но необычным геймплеем. Это не просто шутер или сурвайвал, а настоящий квест в антураже космического ужастика. Герою предстоит очнуться на пустынном и мрачном космическом судне, не понимая, что успело произойти с его коллегами.

В Stasis не нужно все время бегать по локации и обстреливать противников или прятаться от них. Игроку предстоит решать непростые головоломки, чтобы одержать победу.

Dead Space

У игры Dead Space 2008 года выхода есть еще сиквел и приквел. Каждая из трех частей способна напугать до дрожи в коленях. Сюжет оригинальной части построен на попытках главного героя выжить и спастись при встрече с некроморфами в космических условиях. В игре царит атмосфера безнадежности и отчаяния, внешний вид монстров и их жертв вызывает реальное отвращение, граничащее с ужасом.

Alien: Isolation

Стилистика игры полностью соответствует классической киноленте «Чужой». Главная героиня – дочь Эллен Рипли. В попытках выяснить подробности о судьбе матери она попадает на космическую станцию, где обитает Ксеноморф. Так как убить Чужого невозможно, игровой процесс состоит из попыток сбежать от него, надежно спрятаться и затаиться.

Doom 3

Первая и частично вторая игры серии также подходят под тематику, но именно Doom 3 раскрывает ее в полной мере. Вместо стандартных инопланетян противниками выступают существа, схожие с демонами из христианской мифологии.

Фантастический антураж сочетается с мистическим. Кому для страха недостаточно очередных «ксеноморфов», те получают летающие огненные черепа и полчища зомби.

Интересные новости

Обновления переизданий Doom и открытие Хогвартса в... Обновления переизданий Doom и открытие Хогвартса в...

Какие баги пофиксили в переизданных шутерах Doom и Doom II? Когда стартует бета коллекционной...

Какие баги пофиксили в переизданных шутерах Doom и Doom II?...

17 января 2020
В стиле вестерн: топ-7 видеоигр про мир Дикого Зап... В стиле вестерн: топ-7 видеоигр про мир Дикого Зап...

Мечтаешь стать героем вестерна и попрактиковаться в стрельбе из револьвера? Специально для тебя мы...

Мечтаешь стать героем вестерна и попрактиковаться в стрельбе из револьвера?...

16 января 2020
Как видеоигры помогают справиться с кошмарами и ст... Как видеоигры помогают справиться с кошмарами и ст...

Современные видеоигры все чаще используются не только для развлечения, но и с вполне конкретными...

Современные видеоигры все чаще используются не только для развлечения, но...

13 января 2020