Memory and Multitasking Development: Why Are Video Games Useful?

05 December 2019 Memory and Multitasking Development: Why Are Video Games Useful?

Not only do modern video games transfer us to new worlds, but they also help to evolve. Improvement of attention, concentration, and ability to work in a team: that’s not the half of bonuses for gamers. We have scientific evidence of this fact!

Gamers: who are they?

Gamers

Despite the common misconception, not only children like relaxing with their favorite games, be it realistic shooters or colored balls on smartphones. It was concluded by experts from the Entertainment Software Association, conducting a major study of the video game audience.

They estimate that 65% of the adult citizens are fond of spending their time playing on various platforms (by the way, half of the players are women). At the same time, gaming is not ranked first, replacing real life: 56% of the players have other affairs as well, while 63% of the enthusiasts can find new friends and establish friendly relations using video games. Besides, more than 50% of the adult gamers have a college degree and hold good positions.

Video games also encourage communication between kids and adults in the family: parents frequently join their young gamers and play together. As to the younger generation, about two-thirds of US teenagers consider themselves gamers. It sounds terrible to your granny, but everything is okay.

Video games for the brain

Video games for the brain

Do not believe in myths, but listen to scientists: Australian and Chinese scientists have scanned gamers’ brains using MRI. Smart and impartial equipment has shown that some brain divisions of gamers are developed better than divisions of non-playing people. In particular, it is referred to sectors responsible for hand motion coordination and cognitive functions.

The research engaged volunteers taking a great interest in Dota 2 and League of Legends. Scanning has shown that gamers have a bigger amount of grey matter, which is in charge of sensory perception, memory, as well as emotion and speech recognition. Scientists believe that video game passion can enhance the ability to perceive information and coordinate movements.

Emotion reward

dopamine videogames

Interactivity is the key feature of video games and their core difference from movies. People can take part in the process, adventure, and creation of the whole world and new history. It allows them to unlock the creative potential and obtain dopamine, a substance produced by our brain as a reward for successfully completed tasks and achieved goals.

It is dopamine that motivates individuals to study, overcome obstacles, and feel satisfied. The human brain does not make distinctions between virtual and realistic achievements: the defeat of the game opponent gives the same pleasure as the successful completion of the challenging project at work.

It helps to relax, feel better, motivate yourself to the intense activity and solution of actual tasks.

What else do video games provide us with, and what channels of senses do they develop?

  • Involvement. Gamers feel empathy for characters of the imaginary world, learn to understand the emotions of other people, and develop the imaginative insight.

  • Creativity. The ability to find an unconventional way out of the situation, new solutions, new moves, and optimize the character’s properties for various goals.

  • Teamwork skills. It is about games requiring interaction with other persons, and which outcome depends on the team game, its complexity and thoroughness.

  • Communication skills. The resource exchange with other players, fulfillment of agreements, ability to establish crucial contacts in many multiplayer games.

Surely, what matters here is not to fall into a trap of gaming addiction where video games are the only natural source of emotional reward.

Positive impact of video games on the body

  • Multitasking. Researchers from the University of Rochester have carried out the investigation revealing the increased capability to solve several tasks simultaneously among gamers. Shooter lovers always keep their brain with all guns blazing and can rapidly shift from one action to another. It improves their attention and concentration in real life.

  • Night vision training. A lot of games teach people to see in the dark: for instance, Call of Duty or Quake players are able to recognize numerous shades of gray and small details in twilight. It is caused by the gaming process where you should carefully monitor the gaming space as well as pay attention to the slightest changes and dancing shadows.

  • Reduction of pain senses. Members of the American Institute of Pain have found out that video games help patients with severe pains. People receiving serious treatment or suffering from skin burns can abstract themselves from senses of discomfort using consoles or PCs. The brain shifts to other objectives, individuals become engrossed in the gaming process, while the body feels 30-50% less pain.

  • Fight against PTSD. According to the study by Dr. Emily Holmes, even common Tetris allows relieving negative memories and decreasing the stress level because of past trauma. Professor performed one of the recent experiments along with scientists from Bochum University Hospital in 2018. They figured out that the regular Tetris therapy could reduce negative memories by 11%.

Work and study gamification

Геймификация работы и учебы

It is much easier and faster to explore information in the gaming form than to learn it boringly and monotonously. Becoming motivated and interested, people can acquire data without effort. This advantage is used by many foreign companies that have gamified their working processes.

Lego applied this concept 20 years ago: the company started holding meetings, examining the issues based on Lego constructions. Managers literally played with Lego elements symbolizing the company, customers, and interaction between them. Later on, Lego patented such a method as SP (Lego serious play).

Depending on the context and themes, games can heighten the interest in studying history, physics, tactical and strategic techniques, languages, etc. The most important thing is that people won’t have to force themselves, as information is adopted voluntarily.

In the Army service

Space Fortress Army

In the 80s, the Israeli Air Force introduced Space Fortress as a training simulator for cadets. Students had to play it for one hour per day within 10 days. The game was aimed at destroying the enemy base, avoiding hostile shots and weapons.

As part of the experiment, Space Fortress involved one group of cadets, and the second one was trained using a conventional program without video games. The results were assessed by independent experts who did not know which group played Space Fortress. Cadets focusing on the shooter showed a better outcome than their fellow students: the difference in points was 30%.

In different years, US military officers applied Atari and DOOM games to develop soldiers’ skills and improve their response rate.

Conclusion

There is no substantial confirmation of myths about video game harmfulness: none of the scientists have proven yet that gamers suffer from over-the-top aggressiveness or lose social skills. Obviously, we are talking about reasonable enthusiasm that does not turn into pathological addiction.

When it comes to video game benefits, they are scientifically proven and grounded: brain examinations show that gamers have more grey matter as well as better cognitive capacity, reaction, and memory. Furthermore, video games can become an integral part of adult and kid training in different skills and activities in the future.

News

Updates for Doom and Hogwarts in Minecraft: Gaming... Updates for Doom and Hogwarts in Minecraft: Gaming...

What bugs have been fixed in the remastered Doom and Doom II shooters? When...

What bugs have been fixed in the remastered Doom and...

17 January 2020
Western Style: Top 7 Wild West Video Games Western Style: Top 7 Wild West Video Games

Do you dream of becoming a western character and practicing revolver shooting? Specially for...

Do you dream of becoming a western character and practicing...

16 January 2020
How Video Games Help to Combat Nightmares and Stre... How Video Games Help to Combat Nightmares and Stre...

Modern video games are increasingly used not only for fun but also for certain...

Modern video games are increasingly used not only for fun...

13 January 2020

Развитие памяти и мультизадачности: чем полезны видеоигры

05 декабря 2019 Развитие памяти и мультизадачности: чем полезны видеоигры

Современные видеоигры не только открывают перед нами новые миры, но и помогают развиваться. Улучшение внимания, концентрации, умения работать в команде – это далеко не все бонусы, которые получают геймеры. И всему этому есть научные доказательства!

Геймеры – кто они?

Геймеры

Вопреки распространенному заблуждению, расслабиться за любимой игрой, будь то реалистичный шутер или цветные шарики в смартфоне, любят не только дети. К такому выводу пришли эксперты Ассоциации производителей ПО и компьютерных игр США, которые провели масштабное исследование аудитории видеоигр.

По их подсчетам, 65% взрослых граждан страны любят проводить время за играми на различных платформах (кстати, половина игроков – женщины). При этом геймерство не ставится на первое место, заменяя реальную жизнь: у 56% игроков есть и другие занятия, а 63% увлеченных людей видеоигры помогают найти новых приятелей и устанавливать дружеские связи. Также больше 50% взрослых геймеров получили высшее образование и занимают хорошие должности.

Кстати, видеоигры также помогают коммуникации детей и взрослых в семье: родители часто присоединяются к своим юным геймерам и играют вместе с ними. Что касается младшего поколения, то около двух третей американских подростков считают себя геймерами. Звучит ужасно для твоей бабули, но на самом деле все в порядке.

Польза видеоигр для мозга

Польза видеоигр для мозга

Не верь в мифы, лучше слушай ученых: австралийские и китайские исследователи провели сканирование мозга геймеров с помощью МРТ. Умная и беспристрастная аппаратура показала, что некоторые отделы мозга у геймеров развиты лучше, чем у неиграющих людей. В частности, речь идет об отделах, отвечающих за координацию движений рук и когнитивные функции.

Практические исследования проводились на добровольцах, которые увлекаются Dota 2 и League of Legends. Также сканирование показало, что у геймеров повышено количество серого вещества – оно отвечает за полноту сенсорного восприятия мира, а также за память, способность распознавать эмоции и речь. Ученые считают, что увлечение видеоиграми может улучшить способность воспринимать информацию и координировать движения.

Вознаграждение эмоциями

дофамин видеоигры

Ключевая особенность видеоигр и их главное отличие от того же кино заключается в интерактивности. Человек сам принимает участие в процессе, приключении, сотворении целого мира и новой истории. Это помогает реализовать его творческий потенциал и зарядиться дофамином – веществом, которое наш мозг вырабатывает в качестве «вознаграждения» за успешно выполненные задачи, достижение целей.

Именно дофамин мотивирует людей учиться и преодолевать препятствия, отвечает за чувство удовлетворенности. Человеческий мозг устроен таким образом, что различий между виртуальными и реальными достижениями он не делает: одержать верх над противником в игре доставляет такое же удовольствие, как и успешное завершение сложного проекта на работе.

Это помогает расслабиться, поднять настроение, мотивировать себя на активную деятельность и решение вполне реальных задач.

Что же еще дают нам ощутить видеоигры и какие «каналы чувств» развивают?

  • Сопричастие. Геймер сопереживает персонажу, героям придуманного мира, учится лучше понимать эмоции других, развивает эмпатию.

  • Креативность. Умение найти нестандартный выход из ситуации, искать новые решения, новые ходы и оптимизировать характеристики персонажа для разных задач.

  • Навыки работы в команде. Это касается игр, где важно умение взаимодействовать с другими, а исход зависит от командной игры, ее слаженности и продуманности.

  • Умение коммуницировать. Обмен ресурсами с другими игроками, выполнение договоренностей, способность налаживать связи важны во многих сетевых играх.

Конечно, важно в этом случае не попасть в ловушку игровой зависимости, когда единственным источником эмоционального вознаграждения становятся видеоигры.

Позитивное влияние видеоигр на организм

  • Многозадачность. Научные работники Рочестерского университета провели исследование, результаты которого говорят о повышенном умении геймеров решать несколько задач одновременно. Те, кто увлекается шутерами, постоянно держат мозг в «боеготовности» и способны быстро переключаться с одного действия на другое. Это повышает их внимание и концентрацию и в реальной жизни.

  • Тренировка умения видеть в темноте. Многие игры способны развивать у человека ночное виденье: например, игроки в Call of Duty или Quake способны различать множество оттенков серого и мелких деталей в полумраке. Этому способствует игровой процесс, в ходе которого нужно внимательно следить за игровым пространством, а также обращать внимание на малейшие изменения и игру теней.

  • Снижение болевых ощущений. Сотрудники Американского института по изучению боли выяснили, что пациентам с сильными болями помогают видеоигры. Те, кто проходит тяжелое лечение или страдает после ожогов, могут отвлекаться от неприятных ощущений с помощью приставки или компьютера. Мозг переключается на другие задачи, человек увлекается игровым процессом, и его тело ощущает боль на 30-50% меньше.

  • Борьба с ПТСР. Согласно исследованию доктора Эмили Холмс, даже обычный тетрис помогает ослабить негативные воспоминания и снизить уровень стресса из-за пережитой травмы. Один из последних экспериментов профессор провела в 2018 году совместно c учеными из университетской больницы Бохума. Они выявили, что регулярная «терапия тетрисом» снижает негативные воспоминания на 11%.

Геймификация работы и учебы

Геймификация работы и учебы

Осваивать информацию в игровой форме намного легче и быстрее, чем скучно и монотонно заучивать ее. У человека появляется мотивация, интерес, которые позволяют усваивать данные без усилий и напряжения. Этим преимуществом пользуются многие зарубежные компании, которые геймифицировали свои рабочие процессы.

Подобный принцип применила компания Lego еще 20 лет назад: они начали проводить совещания, разбирая вопросы на примере конструкций с лего-кубиками. Менеджеры буквально играли с элементами лего, символизирующими компанию, клиентов, взаимосвязи между ними. Потом Lego запатентовала такой способ как LSP (Lego serious play).

Игры, в зависимости от контекста и тематики, могут повышать интерес к изучению истории, физики, тактических и стратегических приемов, языков и много другого. И главное, что человеку не нужно себя заставлять, усвоение информации происходит добровольно.

На службе у армии

Space Fortress армия

Еще в 80-х годах ВВС Израиля стали применять Space Fortress как обучающий симулятор для кадетов. В задачу учащихся входило играть в нее на протяжении десяти дней всего лишь по часу в сутки. Смысл игры в том, чтобы с помощью самолетика уничтожить базу врагов, при этом уклоняясь от вражеских выстрелов и орудий.

С целью эксперимента в Space Fortress играла одна группа кадетов, вторая же – занималась по классической программе без видеоигры. Оценку результата проводили независимые эксперты, которым не сообщалось, кто из учащихся играл в Space Fortress, а кто – нет. Кадеты, которые занимались «стрелялкой», показали в итоге более успешный результат, чем их сокурсники: разница в баллах составила 30%.

Американские военные в разные годы использовали игры Atari и DOOM для развития навыков у солдат и повышения скорости реакции.

Итоги

Реальных подтверждений пугающих мифов о вреде видеоигр не существует: пока еще ни один ученый не доказал, что геймеры страдают повышенной агрессивностью или утрачивают социальные навыки. Естественно, если речь идет об умеренном увлечении, которое не переросло в паталогическую зависимость.

Что касается пользы видеоигр, то она доказана и обоснована с помощью науки: исследования мозга показывают, что у геймеров больше серого вещества, выше когнитивные способности, реакция и память. К тому же именно видеоигры в будущем могут стать неотъемлемой частью обучения взрослых и детей разным навыкам и видам деятельности.

Интересные новости

Членом жюри WEGAME Awards станет руководитель льво... Членом жюри WEGAME Awards станет руководитель льво...

Встречайте нового члена жюри конкурса WEGAME Awards – руководителя львовского офиса Gameloft Романа Гармаша!...

Встречайте нового члена жюри конкурса WEGAME Awards – руководителя львовского...

08 апреля 2020
Отъявленный кошатник и основатель Cat&Cat Games Ко... Отъявленный кошатник и основатель Cat&Cat Games Ко...

Членом жюри премии WEGAME Awards на шестом фестивале гик- и гейм-культуры станет основатель Cat&Cat...

Членом жюри премии WEGAME Awards на шестом фестивале гик- и...

31 марта 2020
Основатель Beatshapers Алексей Меньшиков станет су... Основатель Beatshapers Алексей Меньшиков станет су...

Встречайте члена жюри WEGAME Awards – крутого разработчика, эксперта по VR и CEO в...

Встречайте члена жюри WEGAME Awards – крутого разработчика, эксперта по...

23 марта 2020