Sony Released the Long-Expected PlayStation 5: Overview of the New Console

19 February 2021 Sony Released the Long-Expected PlayStation 5: Overview of the New Console

On November 19, 2020, Sony released PlayStation 5 all over the world. In Ukraine, it was sold out on pre-orders even before the start of sales. What is so special about the updated gaming console? How does it differ from the previous PlayStation 4 and from competitors? What feedback did the console receive from gamers? Read more in the review by WEGAME 6.0.

Fans have been waiting for the information about the release of PlayStation 5 for over a year. PS5 came out in two versions at once: with and without the optical drive. The official price for the console is $499, with Digital Edition costing $100 less.

Design and features

PlayStation 5

PlayStation 5 is the largest console among modern competitors. Its dimensions are 390x104x260 mm, the optical version weights 4.5 kg, and the digital one reaches 3.9 kg. It turned out to be many times larger and heavier than the previous PS4.

However, the sophisticated design and black and white color scheme appealed to many gamers. The external design of the controller has changed, the buttons have become more streamlined, although the functionality remains almost the same.

The main innovation of the DualSense gamepad is tactile feedback. The built-in motors now vibrate with a certain amount of force to match events happening in the game. When you run on grass or metal surfaces, it will feel differently.

Also, DualSense has improved triggers: each type of weapon causes a different degree of resistance when pressed. So, for example, the experience of shooting a bow will be different from shooting a rifle.

In addition, gamers appreciated the quietness of the console and found a big advantage in the new cooling systems: console heats up no more than to 52 degrees when playing a 4K format game, when competitors' temperatures rise to all 60 degrees.

Sony sound solutions deserve separate mentioning. In the new generation, developers used the Tempest 3D AudioTech chip, which made it possible to create a feeling of total immersion in the game due to three-dimensional acoustics. The sound changes depending on where the gamer is and what the gamer is doing.

PS5 has a timer that counts down the exact time the user has spent at the console. Also, the library integrates all the games the user has ever obtained.

Specifications

PlayStation 5

Over the past 7 years, Sony has really made a big leap in development: PlayStation 5 is significantly superior in almost all respects to the previous generation of consoles. AMD Ryzen CPU with Zen 2 microarchitecture has higher performance for smooth gameplay.

And the performance of a powerful graphics card makes it possible to play in 8K resolution! Ray tracing technology on a hardware level makes the picture more dimensional and realistic.

Device operating memory is doubled and the bandwidth of the internal memory is also significantly increased. An 825 GB SSD loads data a hundred times faster than the HDD introduced on PS4. This ensures almost seamless game world: if the loading process previously took 15-20 seconds, on PS5 any action takes place within a second.

Another addition to the console is AMD SmartShift technology. It allows you to reallocate the frequency of the processor and video card to improve the quality of the picture without consuming large amounts of power.

Compatibility and available games

PlayStation 5

Backward compatibility between consoles of different generations is possible. Many PS4 games will become even more perfect on PlayStation 5 with increased performance. It is expected that many games from the previous generation library will move to PS5.

Exclusive game projects from Sony that are available now or will appear very soon on a new console: Horizon Forbidden West, Spider-Man: Miles Morales, Gran Turismo 7, Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart and others.

Feedback

The hype around the console hasn't faded away for months. In a fairly short time, Sony PlayStation 5 has received many positive reviews. Among its main advantages, gamers distinguish:

  • high performance and download speed;
  • design and improved vibration of the gamepad;
  • support for 4K and 8K
  • clear, bright graphics and good lighting;
  • updated, smooth interface;
  • noiselessness;

They also talk about flaws, but most consider the high price as its biggest disadvantage. Some players noticed that their hands get tired from a heavier gamepad, others complain about a lack of Sony exclusives and easily soiled case.

At the same time, many users noted that the pleasure of gameplay still surpasses the existing minor imperfections.


If you have already tried PlayStation 5, come to WEGAME 6.0 festival on April 17-18 and share your thoughts in the gaming community. If you didn't have such chance, join us nevertheless, you will enjoy cool communication and full immersion in the universe of video games!

Event details >>>

News

WEGAME 6.2 Festival Will Take Place in Summer of 2... WEGAME 6.2 Festival Will Take Place in Summer of 2...

Downloading the WEGAME 6.2 update! The festival is rescheduled to June 12-13. In order...

Downloading the WEGAME 6.2 update! The festival is rescheduled to...

03 March 2021
World of Warcraft: Selection of Top Cosplays World of Warcraft: Selection of Top Cosplays

World of Warcraft can rightfully be considered a legendary game that has been living...

World of Warcraft can rightfully be considered a legendary game...

26 February 2021
Sony Released the Long-Expected PlayStation 5: Ove... Sony Released the Long-Expected PlayStation 5: Ove...

On November 19, 2020, Sony released PlayStation 5 all over the world. In Ukraine,...

On November 19, 2020, Sony released PlayStation 5 all over...

19 February 2021

Sony выпустила долгожданную PlayStation 5: обзор характеристик новой приставки

19 февраля 2021 Sony выпустила долгожданную PlayStation 5: обзор характеристик новой приставки

19 ноября 2020 года во всем мире состоялся релиз Sony PlayStation 5. В Украине ее раскупили по предзаказам еще до начала продаж. Какими особенностями обладает обновленная игровая приставка? Чем она отличается от PlayStation 4 и предложений конкурентов и какие отзывы геймеров получила? Читай дальше в обзоре от WEGAME 6.0.

Информацию о выходе PlayStation 5 фанаты ждали больше года. PS 5 вышла сразу в двух версиях: с оптическим приводом и без. Официальная цена консоли – $499, для Digital Edition – на $100 меньше.

Внешний вид и особенности использования

PlayStation 5

PlayStation 5 – самая большая приставка среди современных аналогов. Ее габариты – 390 × 104 × 260 мм, вес старшей консоли достигает 4,5 кг, а младшей – 3,9 кг. Она получилась в разы крупнее и тяжелее прошлой версии PS.

Однако утонченный дизайн и черно-белое цветовое решение пришлись по вкусу многим игрокам. Внешнее исполнение контролера изменилось, кнопки стали более обтекаемыми, хотя функционал остался почти такой же.

Главное новшество геймпада DualSense – тактильная отдача. Теперь встроенные моторы вибрируют с определенной силой, которая соответствует происходящему в игре. Бежит персонаж по траве или по металлической поверхности – рельеф будет ощущаться геймером по-разному.

Также в DualSense усовершенствованы курки: каждый вид оружия вызывает разной степени сопротивление при нажатии. Так, например, ощущения от стрельбы из лука и из винтовки будут отличаться.

Кроме этого, геймеры оценили тишину работы консоли и нашли большой плюс в новых системах охлаждения: приставка нагревается не более чем до 52 °C при прохождении игры в формате 4К, когда у конкурентов температура вырастает до 60 °C.

Отдельно стоит сказать про звуковые решения Sony. В новом поколении PS разработчики использовали чип Tempest 3D AudioTech, который позволил создать ощущение тотального погружения в игру за счет трехмерной акустики. Звук меняется в зависимости от того, где находится и что делает геймер.

В PS 5 есть таймер, который отсчитывает точное время, которое пользователь провел за приставкой. Также в библиотеке отображаются все игры, которыми он когда-либо обладал.

Технические характеристики

PlayStation 5

За прошедшие семь лет Sony действительно сделала большой скачок в развитии: PlayStation 5 практически по всем параметрам значительно превосходит предыдущее поколение консолей.

Центральный процессор AMD Ryzen с микроархитектурой Zen 2 обладает более высокой производительностью, которая делает гейм-процесс мгновенным. А благодаря производительности мощной видеокарты становится возможной игра в разрешении 8К! Технология трассировки лучей на аппаратном уровне способствует воспроизведению более объемной и реалистичной картинки.

Оперативная память устройства увеличена в два раза. Также весомо повышена пропускная способность внутренней памяти. SSD на 825 ГБ в 100 раз быстрее загружает данные, чем HDD, который был представлен на PS 4. Это обеспечивает практически бесшовный игровой мир: если раньше загрузка занимала 15-20 секунд, то на PS 5 любое действие происходит в ту же секунду.

Еще одной новинкой приставки можно считать технологию AMD SmartShift. Она позволяет перераспределять частоту работы процессора и видеокарты для улучшения качества картинки без больших затрат энергопотребления.

Совместимость и доступные игры

PlayStation 5

Обратная совместимость между консолями разных поколений возможна. Многие гейм-проекты PS 4 станут еще более привлекательными на PlayStation 5 за счет увеличенной производительности. Ожидается, что основная масса игр из библиотеки прошлого поколения перейдет на PS 5.

Среди эксклюзивов Sony, которые доступны уже сейчас или появятся очень скоро на новой приставке: Horizon Forbidden West, Spider-Man: Miles Morales, Gran Turismo 7, Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart и другие.

Отзывы

Ажиотаж вокруг консоли не утихает уже несколько месяцев. За достаточно короткий срок Sony PlayStation 5 набрала много положительных отзывов. Среди основных ее преимуществ геймеры выделяют:

  • высокую производительность и скорость загрузки;
  • дизайн и усовершенствованную вибрацию геймпада;
  • поддержку 4К и 8К;
  • четкую, яркую графику и хорошее освещение;
  • обновленный, лаконичный интерфейс;
  • бесшумность.

Про недостатки тоже говорят, но большинство считает самым большим ее минусом высокую цену. Некоторые игроки замечали, что от более тяжелого геймпада сильнее устают руки, другие жалуются на недостаточное количество эксклюзивов от Sony и маркий корпус.

При этом многие пользователи отметили, что удовольствие от игрового процесса все равно перекрывает существующие мелкие несовершенства.


Если ты уже успел опробовать PlayStation 5 – приходи на фестиваль WEGAME 6.0 17-18 апреля и поделись своими впечатлениями в геймерском комьюнити. Если не успел – тоже приходи, тебя ждет много крутого общения и полное погружение во вселенную видеоигр!

Детали ивента>>>

Интересные новости

Фестиваль WEGAME 6.2 пройдет летом 2021 года: наши... Фестиваль WEGAME 6.2 пройдет летом 2021 года: наши...

Загружаем обновление – встречай WEGAME 6.2! Фестиваль переносится на 12-13 июня. Для того чтобы...

Загружаем обновление – встречай WEGAME 6.2! Фестиваль переносится на 12-13...

03 марта 2021
Топовые косплеи World of Warcraft: подборка Топовые косплеи World of Warcraft: подборка

World of Warcraft по праву можно считать культовой игрой, которая уже 15 лет живет...

World of Warcraft по праву можно считать культовой игрой, которая...

26 февраля 2021
Sony выпустила долгожданную PlayStation 5: обзор х... Sony выпустила долгожданную PlayStation 5: обзор х...

19 ноября 2020 года во всем мире состоялся релиз Sony PlayStation 5. В Украине...

19 ноября 2020 года во всем мире состоялся релиз Sony...

19 февраля 2021