Top 7 Games about Dangerous Epidemics and Viruses

14 August 2020 Top 7 Games about Dangerous Epidemics and Viruses

The theme of big epidemics raging on the Earth and killing thousands of people is not new for video games. However, such kind of content has become especially relevant in 2020 when humanity has faced coronavirus. While combating COVID-19 is a difficult task in reality, such disasters are possible to cope with in the virtual world.

Below, you will find a selection of seven games about epidemics and dangerous viruses designed for different platforms. The list includes games where players can act as not only fighters against infected monsters but also creators of disastrous viruses.

Resident Evil 2

Resident Evil 2

Released in 2019, Resident Evil 2 is a remake of the same-name iconic survival horror game, which came out in 1998. The game was developed by the Japanese company Capcom R&D Division.

The story sets in Raccoon City that suffers from the leakage of virus created by Umbrella Corporation. The virus turns people into zombies, and animals – into mutants. Main characters are Leon Scott Kennedy and Claire Redfield. In the game, they will face many battles, as well as explore levels and solve brainteasers.

Resident Evil is not simply a game about hazardous virus. This franchise consists of eight main games, three remakes, six films (world famous Resident Evil series starring Milla Jovovich), four animated movies, etc.

Resident Evil 2 remake is available for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Windows.

A Plague Tale: Innocence

A Plague Tale: Innocence

A Plague Tale: Innocence is an adventure stealth-action game with elements of horror. The game developer is a French company Asobo Studio.

The events take place in France in 1348-1349, when the country suffered from war and plague epidemic. Main characters are a 15-year-old girl and her younger brother that lost their parents in the midst of epidemic. They need to hide from Inquisition soldiers and plunderers, as well as to beat rats that spread an incurable disease with the help of fire.

Developers managed to render sufferings of people found in the thick of spreading of the deadly disease quite realistically. Besides, they managed to combine an interesting storyline and engaging gameplay. Despite the fact that main heroes are children, the game includes blood scenes and other horrors of war.

A Plague Tale: Innocence is available for Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.

Plague Inc

Plague Inc

This video game is a multi-platform strategy simulation. The developer is the British company Ndemic Creations.

While heroes fight against the spreading of dangerous epidemic in the majority of games, everything develops differently in Plague Inc. The player creates a virus and takes it under control. The goal is to spread the disease, adapting to different conditions, and to kill all people.

Namely Plague Inc has become the game affected by the situation with COVID-19. In the light of coronavirus pandemic and on request of players, developers added a new mode to the game, where players need to save the world from the dangerous infection. Invention of vaccine, shutdown of countries due to quarantine – the new mode offers these functions.

In China, the strategy became a top-selling mobile game in January of 2020. At that time, local social media wrote that the Chinese were trying to cope with the fear of the new disease using the game. But in February, the game disappeared from all app stores. Mass media reported that the reason was the ban of the game on the territory of China.

Plague Inc is available for Android, iOS, Linux, MacOS, Windows, Windows Phone, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and Nintendo Switch.

Bloodborne

Bloodborne

The action role-playing game was developed by Japanese companies FromSoftware and SCE Japan Studio. Bloodborne stands out for a high level of complexity and a small number of tips from the side of developers.

The action starts in Yharnam city that struggles against epidemic of plague. Under the influence of the disease, citizens turn into monsters. The main hero, who turns into the Hunter after the blood transfusion ritual, has to move around the town and eliminate different monsters. While exploring the city, the player gradually finds out about its dark secrets and the origin of plague.

The game is available only for PlayStation 4. Currently, a PC version is under development. Insiders report that the new version can be released in 2020.

Planet to Save: Infection Battle

Planet to Save: Infection Battle

Planet to Save: Infection Battle is a mobile game dedicated to saving the planet from the virus. The game was developed in Belarus and released in 2020 when COVID-19 pandemic is raging in the world.

The player needs to stop the virus that spreads throughout the whole planet with the help of Planet to Save Corporation.

stages of the game have references to events that took place due to coronavirus pandemic. For example, the player has to protect passengers of the cruise liner against infection, prevent spreading of virus at the nightclub, find an infected passenger on the plane basing on a photo and isolate him.

Players can download the game on Play Market.

Left 4 Dead

Left 4 Dead

Left 4 Dead is a multiplayer first-person shooter and survival horror. The game was developed by Turtle Rock Studios.

According to the plot, a virus epidemic outbreaks in the USA, causing symptoms of rabies and mutations. An unknown infection turns people into monsters. Main characters have to fight against beasts to survive.

Left 4 Dead is a team game, so cooperative is its main mode. The team can consist of one to four people. Missing players are replaced with bots. In the multiplayer mode, rival teams find themselves in different conditions: some play for survivors, and others – for infected and strongly mutated characters.

Left 4 Dead is available for Windows, Xbox 360, and MacOS.

The Last of Us

The Last of Us

The last game on the list is The Last of Us action-adventure with elements of survival horror and stealth. The project was developed by the American company Naughty Dog.

In The Last of Us, the pandemic is caused not by a virus but a mutated Cordyceps fungus, which parasitizes certain insect species in real life. After getting into human body, it turns people into something that looks like zombies. The action takes place 20 years after the disastrous pandemic. Heroes need to protect themselves against enemies, reach the safety zone, and save their lives.

In The Last of Us, players not only fight against mutants but also explore the surroundings and solve different brainteasers.

The game is available only for PlayStation 3. The Last of Us Remastered is designed for PlayStation 4.


Read more reviews of cool games, series, and films in the “News” section.

News

Esports Acquired the Status of Official Sport: Com... Esports Acquired the Status of Official Sport: Com...

On September 7, 2020, the event important for the Ukrainian esports and gaming industry...

On September 7, 2020, the event important for the Ukrainian...

15 September 2020
Cosplay after The Witcher Series by Netflix: Renfr... Cosplay after The Witcher Series by Netflix: Renfr...

Cosplay after The Witcher enjoys great popularity and you can find loads of excellent...

Cosplay after The Witcher enjoys great popularity and you can...

08 September 2020
WEGAME 6.0 Festival Postponed to April, 2021 WEGAME 6.0 Festival Postponed to April, 2021

WEGAME 6.0 is postponed to April, 2021. We have been working on the program...

WEGAME 6.0 is postponed to April, 2021. We have been...

02 September 2020

Топ-7 игр об опасных эпидемиях и вирусах

14 августа 2020 Топ-7 игр об опасных эпидемиях и вирусах

Тема масштабных эпидемий, бушующих на Земле и убивающих тысячи людей, для видеоигр не нова. Но особенно актуальным такой контент стал именно в 2020 году, когда человечество лицом к лицу столкнулось с коронавирусом. Если в реальности победить COVID-19 оказалось сложной задачей, то в виртуальном мире с подобными бедствиями все-таки можно справиться.

Предлагаем подборку из семи игр об эпидемиях и опасных вирусах для разных платформ. В этом списке есть игры, в которых можно стать не только борцом с зараженными монстрами, но и создателем опасных вирусов.

Resident Evil 2

Resident Evil 2

Resident Evil 2, изданная в 2019 году, – ремейк одноименной культовой игры в жанре survival horror, которая была выпущена еще в 1998-м. Разработана японской Capcom R&D Division.

По сюжету в городе Раккун-сити произошла утечка вируса, который создала корпорация Umbrella. Он превращает людей в зомби, а животных – в мутантов. Главные герои – Леон Скотт Кеннеди и Клэр Редфилд. В процессе игры их ожидает множество схваток, а также исследование уровней и решение головоломок.

Resident Evil – не просто игра об опасном вирусе. Это франшиза, которая насчитывает восемь основных игр, три ремейка, шесть фильмов (известная на весь мир серия «Обитель зла» с Миллой Йовович в главной роли), четыре анимационных картины и т. д.

Ремейк Resident Evil 2 доступен для PlayStation 4, Xbox One и Windows.

A Plague Tale: Innocence

A Plague Tale: Innocence

A Plague Tale: Innocence выпущена в жанре приключенческого стелс-экшена, но в ней есть и элементы хоррора. Создатель игры – французская компания Asobo Studio.

События в игре происходят в 1348-1349 гг. во Франции, которая охвачена войной и эпидемией чумы. Главные герои – 15-летняя девушка и ее младший брат, которые лишились родителей в разгар эпидемии. Они должны скрыться от солдат Инквизиции и мародеров, а также с помощью огня победить крыс, переносящих неизлечимую болезнь.

Разработчики смогли довольно реалистично показать страдания людей, находящихся в эпицентре распространения смертельной болезни. Также им удалось совместить в проекте интересный сюжет и увлекательный геймплей. Несмотря на то, что главные персонажи всего лишь дети, в игровом процессе будут присутствовать и кровавые сцены, и другие ужасы времен войны.

A Plague Tale: Innocence доступна для платформ Windows, PlayStation 4 и Xbox One.

Plague Inc

Plague Inc

Это мультиплатформенная компьютерная стратегия в жанре симулятора. Разработчик игры – британская компания Ndemic Creations.

Если в большинстве игр герой борется с распространением опасной эпидемии, то в случае с Plague Inc все происходит наоборот. Игрок самостоятельно создает вирус и берет его под свой контроль. Его цель – распространить болезнь, адаптируясь к разным условиям, и убить всех людей.

Именно Plague Inc стала той игрой, которую затронула ситуация с распространением COVID-19. На фоне пандемии коронавируса по просьбам геймеров игру дополнили новым режимом, в котором мир нужно спасать от опасной инфекции. Разработка вакцины, закрытие стран на карантин – все эти функции есть в новом режиме.

В Китае в январе 2020-го стратегия стала самой продаваемой мобильной игрой. Тогда в местных соцсетях писали, что с ее помощью китайцы пытались справиться со страхом перед новой болезнью. Но уже в феврале игра пропала из всех магазинов приложений. По сообщениям СМИ, причиной этого стал ее запрет на территории КНР.

Plague Inc доступна для платформ Android, iOS, Linux, MacOS, Windows, Windows Phone, Xbox One, PlayStation 4 и Nintendo Switch.

Bloodborne

Bloodborne

Игру в жанре ролевого боевика разработали японские компании FromSoftware и SCE Japan Studio. Она отличается высоким уровнем сложности и малым количеством подсказок со стороны разработчиков.

Действия в Bloodborne начинаются в городе Ярнам, который охвачен эпидемией чумы. Его жители под действием болезни превращаются в чудовищ. Главный герой, ставший после обряда переливания крови охотником, должен перемещаться по городу и уничтожать разных монстров. А во время исследования города игрок постепенно сможет узнать о его темных секретах и происхождении чумы.

Игра доступна только для PlayStation 4. Но сейчас идет разработка Bloodborne для ПК. Инсайдеры сообщают, что релиз новой версии может состояться уже в течение 2020 года.

Planet to Save: Infection Battle

Planet to Save: Infection Battle

Planet to Save: Infection Battle – мобильная игра о спасении планеты от вируса. Ее разработали в Беларуси и выпустили в 2020 году, когда в мире бушует пандемия COVID-19.

Игроку предстоит с помощью корпорации Planet to Save остановить вирус, распространяющийся по всей планете.

На разных этапах игры есть отсылки к событиям, которые происходили из-за пандемии коронавируса. К примеру, геймер должен защитить от инфекции пассажиров круизного лайнера, не допустить распространение вируса в ночном клубе, по фотографии найти в самолете зараженного пассажира и изолировать его.

Скачать игру можно в Play Market.

Left 4 Dead

Left 4 Dead

Left 4 Dead – многопользовательская игра в жанре шутера от первого лица и survival horror. Ее разработчик – компания Turtle Rock Studios.

По сюжету США охватила эпидемия вируса, который вызывает у людей симптомы бешенства и мутации. Неизвестная инфекция превращает людей в монстров. Главные герои должны вступить в схватку с чудовищами, чтобы остаться в живых.

Игра в первую очередь ориентирована на командное прохождение, поэтому ее основной режим – кооператив. В команде может быть от одного до четырех человек. Недостающие игроки замещаются ботами. В сетевом режиме команды противников оказываются в разных условиях: одни играют за выживших, а другие – за зараженных и сильно мутировавших персонажей.

Left 4 Dead доступна для платформ Windows, Xbox 360 и MacOS.

The Last of Us

The Last of Us

Завершает подборку игр об эпидемиях и опасных вирусах The Last of Us в жанре action-adventure с элементами survival horror и стелс-экшена. Проект разработала американская компания Naughty Dog.

В The Last of Us пандемия вызвана не вирусом, а мутировавшим грибом кордицепс, который в реальной жизни паразитирует на определенных видах насекомых. Попав в организм людей, он превратил их в подобие зомби. Сюжет игры разворачивается через 20 лет после страшной пандемии. Герои должны защититься от врагов, добраться до безопасной зоны и спасти свои жизни.

В The Last of Us игроки не только сражаются с мутантами, но и исследуют окружающий мир, решают разные головоломки.

Игра доступна для PlayStation 3. Ее обновленная версия The Last of Us Remastered подходит для PlayStation 4.


Больше обзоров на крутые игры, сериалы и фильмы читай в разделе «Новости».

Интересные новости

Esports получил статус официального вида спорта: к... Esports получил статус официального вида спорта: к...

7 сентября 2020 года произошло важное событие для киберспортивной и гейминг-индустрии Украины. Esports на...

7 сентября 2020 года произошло важное событие для киберспортивной и...

15 сентября 2020
Косплей по сериалу «Ведьмак» от Netflix: Ренфри и... Косплей по сериалу «Ведьмак» от Netflix: Ренфри и...

Косплей по «Ведьмаку» очень популярен, и в Сети гуляет море как отличных, так и...

Косплей по «Ведьмаку» очень популярен, и в Сети гуляет море...

08 сентября 2020
Фестиваль WEGAME 6.0 переносится на апрель 2021 го... Фестиваль WEGAME 6.0 переносится на апрель 2021 го...

WEGAME 6.0 переносится на апрель 2021 года. Мы работали над программой и до последнего...

WEGAME 6.0 переносится на апрель 2021 года. Мы работали над...

02 сентября 2020