2018’s top games

11 December 2018 2018’s top games

“History repeats itself,” developers remind us. In 2018, we saw relaunches, sequels, and prequels of our favorite series. There were also several new excellent projects. However, it is gaming market mastodons that still receive key rewards and popular passion.

Let’s review the most amazing gaming novelties presented in 2018.

1. God of War

God of War has gained the honored title of the game of the year at The Game Awards 2018. GOW has become extremely popular due to a spectacular protagonist, major fights, and successful application of ancient Greek mythology. The eighth part was announced as a sequel of previous ones, but in fact, everything was changed in the game: from its plot to location of character’s living.

Santa Monica Studio decided to refuse a slasher in favor of a new and more popular action RPG. A gaming process was elaborated from scratch. It significantly differs from previous game series. Kratos sprouted a beard, moved from sunny Greece to severe Norway, obtained a son, and replaced legendary Blades of Exile with a battle axe.

In a word, there is almost nothing left from the common world of war god, save for the character. Nevertheless, developers have kept a great deal of Easter eggs seamlessly integrated with the core setting for actual series fans.

WEGAME: God of War

2. Red Dead Redemption 2

RDR2 is a record holder in the amount of awards at The Game Awards this year. The prize was adjudged to it for a soundtrack, sound design, narration, and acting. The award was given to Roger Clark for the role of Arthur Morgan.

It is a third-person shooter game with an open adventure western world. A plot of a single-player campaign focuses on human life and survival within complex conditions of the core of the Old West at the end of the 19thcentury. According to developers, the game will feature quite a spacious and thoroughly developed open world that will become a framework for a new network mode.

Detailed elaboration of this game is indeed impressed: weapon is based on unique samples, horses ask for food and require communicating; besides, if an enemy takes down a protagonist’s hat, it will show bullet damage in further cinematic.

WEGAME: Red Dead Redemption 2

3. Detroit: Become Human

At the time when disputes over the ethic application of artificial intelligence is reaching the apogee, Detroit could not have come at a better time. The console game designed by a French company Quantic Dream using motion capture has obtained lots of positive feedback. Its average point on Metacritic is 79/100.

The story is told on behalf of three android characters. Each of them has their own plot, but they ultimately come into a single picture.

Can robots experience emotions? Should one treat it with the same respect as human beings? Will robots be able to conquer the world? Who should be blamed if the system suddenly crashes? Lovers of cyberpunk and theories of robots capturing the world will be definitely fond of this game.

P. S. Detroit will likely disappoint slasher fans because it is an interactive movie requiring minimal intervention of players.

WEGAME: Red Dead Redemption 2

4. Spider-Man (2018)

Spider-Man is an adventure third-person action game developed by Insomniac Games Studio. Spider-Man also laid claim to being the game of the year in The Game Awards 2018 nomination but lost to God of War.

The game is eye-catching and easy: from color sensation to intuitive control. Detailed elaboration of the game should not go without mention: Insomniac Games has done its best here. Howling of the wind during flights, roar of car traffic, siren horns, rustling of leaves when Spider-Man flies past just above tree crown, camera angles, and animation: all these things areup to the mark.

WEGAME: Spider-Man

5. Shadow of the Tomb Raider

One more nominee of The Game Awards 2018 is Shadow of the Tomb Raider. Noteworthy is that the game is designed by a Canadian studio Eidos Montreal (Thief, Deus Ex: Human Revolution, and Deus Ex: Mankind Divided) rather than founders of Tomb Raider’s previous parts – Crystal Dynamics.

Similar to Kratos, Lara Croft looks pretty different in 2018, while the plot has almost nothing in common with previous series parts. Although many gamers complain about both the plot and Lara Croft herself, the game is worth playing because of authentic and incredible locations. We have never seen so wonderful sunsets.

WEGAME: Shadow of the Tomb Raider

6. Far Cry 5

This year, Ubisoft decided to impress fans with the fifth game of the Far Cry series. The action takes place in rural America controlled by the Eden's Gate destructive cult led by a self-proclaimed prophet – Joseph Seed.

In general, the fifth part has received positive feedback. It offers awesome and exciting action, stunning amount of game mechanics, and four flamboyant villains who could easily compete in madness with Vaas Montenegro.

To game developers’ credit, they have thoroughly explored Montana and meticulously recreated it in exquisite detail. Moreover, Far Cry 5 artists have a real talent for turning routine views into epic landscapes: Far Cry graphics is on the ball as usual.

WEGAME: Far Cry 5 1

News

Avid Cat Lover and Founder of Cat&Cat Games Konsta... Avid Cat Lover and Founder of Cat&Cat Games Konsta...

Founder of Cat&Cat Games Konstantin Ramenskii will be a jury member at WEGAME Awards...

Founder of Cat&Cat Games Konstantin Ramenskii will be a jury...

31 March 2020
Beatshapers Founder Alexey Menshikov to Judge WEGA... Beatshapers Founder Alexey Menshikov to Judge WEGA...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Alexey Menshikov, a great developer, VR expert and...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Alexey Menshikov, a great...

23 March 2020
Registration to WEGAME Awards is Extended Till May... Registration to WEGAME Awards is Extended Till May...

Dates of WEGAME 6.0 have been changed – this year, festival will take place...

Dates of WEGAME 6.0 have been changed – this year,...

18 March 2020

Топ лучших игр за 2018 год

11 декабря 2018 Топ лучших игр за 2018 год

«Все новое – хорошо забытое старое», – напоминают нам разработчики. В 2018 году мы увидели и перезапуски, и сиквелы, и приквелы уже полюбившихся серий. Было и несколько отличных новых проектов, хотя основные награды и народную любовь пока собирают мастодонты игрового рынка.

Давайте вспомним о самых ярких игровых новинках, которые мы увидели в 2018 году.

1. God of War

На The Game Awards 2018 заслуженное звание игры года получила God of War. Сама по себе GOW уже стала культовой благодаря яркому протагонисту, масштабным боям и удачному использованию древнегреческой мифологии. Восьмую часть анонсировали как сиквел предыдущих частей, но на деле в игре изменилось все: от жанра до места проживания героя.

Santa Monica Studio решила отказаться от слэшера в угоду новому и более популярному action RPG. Игровой процесс был переработан с нуля и значительно отличается от предыдущих игр серии. Сам Кратос отрастил бороду, переехал из солнечной Греции в суровую Норвегию, обзавелся сыном и сменил легендарные Клинки Изгнанника на боевой топор.

Одним словом, кроме персонажа, от привычного мира бога войны не осталось практически ничего. Однако для истинных поклонников серии разработчики оставили немало пасхалок, грамотно вплетенных в основной сеттинг.

WEGAME: God of War

2. Red Dead Redemption 2

RDR2 стала рекордсменом по количеству наград на The Game Awards в этом году. Ей присудили призы за саундтрек, дизайн звука, повествование и актерскую игру – награду получил Роджер Кларк за роль Артура Моргана.

Игра стала шутером от третьего лица с открытым миром в жанре приключенческого вестерна. Сюжет одиночной кампании повествует о жизни людей и их выживании в непростых условиях центральной части Американского Старого Запада в конце XIX века. По заявлению разработчиков, в игре будет очень просторный и тщательно проработанный открытый мир, который станет основой для нового сетевого режима.

И действительно, детализация в этой игре поражает: оружие создавалось по оригинальным образцам, лошади просят есть и нуждаются в общении, а если во время перестрелки враг снесет шляпу протагониста, в последующих синематиках на ней будут видны следы от пуль.

WEGAME: Red Dead Redemption 2

3. Detroit: Become Human

Во времена, когда полемика по поводу этичного использования искусственного интеллекта достигает своего апогея, Detroit приходится как нельзя кстати. Консольная игра, созданная французской компанией Quantic Dream с помощью motion capture получила много положительных отзывов, а средний балл на Metacritic – 79/100.

Повествование ведется от лица трех персонажей-андроидов. У каждого своя сюжетная линия, но они в конечном итоге соединяются в единую картину.

Может ли робот испытывать эмоции и нужно ли относиться к нему с таким же уважением, как к человеку; смогут ли роботы захватить мир и кого винить, если система вдруг даст сбой, – любителям киберпанка и теорий захвата мира роботами эта игра точно придется по вкусу.

P. S.Любителей слэшеров Детройт, скорее всего, разочарует: это интерактивное кино, которое требует минимального вмешательства со стороны игрока.

WEGAME: Red Dead Redemption 2

4. Spider-Man (2018)

Spider-Man – приключенческий экшен от третьего лица, созданный студией Insomniac Games. «Человек-паук» также претендовал на звание игры года в номинации The Game Awards 2018, но уступил награду God of War.

Сама игра получилась красочной и легкой – от цветового восприятия до интуитивного управления. Нельзя не отметить детальную проработку игры: тут разработчики Insomniac Games постарались на славу. Рев ветра в ушах во время полета, гул автомобильного трафика и сирен, шелест листвы, если Спайдермен пролетает прямо над кроной дерева, ракурсы камеры, анимация – все это на высоте.

WEGAME: Spider-Man

5. Shadow of the Tomb Raider

Ещеодинноминант The Game Awards 2018 – Shadow of the Tomb Raider. Примечательно, что игра разработана канадской студией Eidos Montreal (Thief, Deus Ex: Human Revolution и Deus Ex: Mankind Divided), а не создателями предыдущих частей Tomb Raider из Crystal Dynamics.

Как и в случае с Кратосом, внешний вид Лары Крофт в 2018 году сильно изменился, а сюжетная связь с прошлыми частями серии чисто символическая. Хотя многие жалуются на неуклюжесть как сюжета, так и самой Лары, в игру стоит поиграть ради аутентичных и невероятно красочных локаций: таких красивых закатов мы не видели еще нигде.

WEGAME: Shadow of the Tomb Raider

6. Far Cry 5

В этом году Ubisoft решила порадовать фанатов пятой игрой серии Far Cry. Ее сюжет разворачивается в американской глубинке, находящейся под контролем деструктивного культа «Врата Эдема», который возглавляет самопровозглашенный пророк Иосиф Сид.

В целом пятая часть получила неплохие отзывы. Здесь есть шикарный экшен, не дающий заскучать ни на секунду, впечатляющее количество игровых механик и четыре колоритных злодея, которые вполне смогли бы соревноваться в безумии с Ваасом Монтенегро.

Нужно отдать должное создателям игры, которые тщательно изучили штат Монтана и кропотливо воссоздали его в мельчайших деталях. К тому же у художников Far Cry 5 настоящий талант превращать повседневные виды в эпические пейзажи: графика у Far Cry как всегда на высоте.

WEGAME: Far Cry 5 1

 

Интересные новости

Сборная Украины по PES, minor-турнир в Буковеле, с... Сборная Украины по PES, minor-турнир в Буковеле, с...

Киберспортивные турниры по различным дисциплинам проходят по всему миру, и Украина не исключение. Мы...

Киберспортивные турниры по различным дисциплинам проходят по всему миру, и...

06 декабря 2019
Развитие памяти и мультизадачности: чем полезны ви... Развитие памяти и мультизадачности: чем полезны ви...

Современные видеоигры не только открывают перед нами новые миры, но и помогают развиваться. Улучшение...

Современные видеоигры не только открывают перед нами новые миры, но...

05 декабря 2019
Тест на знание WEGAME. Проверь свои силы Тест на знание WEGAME. Проверь свои силы

Готовясь к WEGAME 6.0, мы вспоминаем все предыдущие фестивали и их основные фишки. Чтобы...

Готовясь к WEGAME 6.0, мы вспоминаем все предыдущие фестивали и...

03 декабря 2019