Ukrainian Esports Disciplines: How the National Industry Develops. Experts’ Opinions

24 December 2019 Ukrainian Esports Disciplines: How the National Industry Develops. Experts’ Opinions

Analysts of NewZoo forecast that volumes of the global esports market will have grown to $1.5 billion by 2022. Esports has not been recognized officially in Ukraine yet, but it does not prevent Ukrainian teams from winning world championships and the industry from developing in the country.

How the Ukrainian esports evolves

esports evolves

Ukrainian esports teams have been participating in global championships, winning, and showing good results for several years. The first competitions were local. Everything started from video games in computer clubs and there was no division into professionals and amateurs. Gradually, the first platforms were appearing in Ukraine, intended for big tournaments.

Back in 2001, the World Cyber Games qualifier took place in Ukraine. Supported by Samsung, tournaments were held throughout Ukraine, and winners played international games. Later, other major tournaments appeared, for example, ASUS Open. In 2012, StarLadder was opened in Ukraine and hosted CS: GO, Point Blank, Dota 2, League of Legends, World of Tanks tournaments several times per year.

In 2010, Kyiv Cybersport Arena was opened in the capital with an area of 1,500 square meters. The facility is outfitted with everything needed to organize LAN tournaments. Before the official opening, it hosted the Arbalet Cup Best of Four featuring the world’s best Counter-Strike teams, where Natus Vincere won. Besides, Kyiv Cybersport Arena hosted ASUS Open championships, Counter-Strike IEM European Finals 2011, and StarCraft II championships.

However, not only the capital can boast achievements in esports. In 2018, Dnipro opened its own esports platform called Windigo Arena. The facility has an area of 1100 square meters and is technically furnished for large-scale cyber tournaments.

Ukrainian esports players and teams

esports players and teams

Ukrainian esports players show good results in tournaments of different games, and some of them hold positions in the global rankings of income. Most popular cyber athletes have made a fortune and built a career in Dota 2. Some of them are Roman “Resolut1on” Fominok, Volodymyr “No[o]ne” Minenko, Danylo “Dendi” Ishutin, Oleksandr “ХВОСТ” Dashkevich, and others.

The most famous Ukrainian esports players are or previously were members of Na’Vi (Natus Vincere). This team has become truly iconic: founded in 2010, it won The International the following year, the biggest global Dota 2 tournament. The team received a reward of $1 million.

Besides, Ukrainian esports players show good results in FIFA, PUBG, and CS: GO.

Ukrainian esports federations

Specialized organizations that support players, host tournaments, and organize training courses, have a great impact on the development of the esports industry in the country. There are three of them in Ukraine and each performs an intense activity.

Ukrainian Esport Federation (UESF) was founded in Dnipro in 2018. It is officially registered as an all-Ukrainian non-governmental organization with local offices in every region. Ukrainian Esport Federation promotes and mainstreams esports, hosts tournaments, and supports talented players.

The Federation collaborates with Windigo Gaming (in particular, supports its educational program), XSPORT, NCL. UESF has organized Ukraine’s first esports championship with the prize fund of 1 million hryvnias (Dota 2 and Counter-Strike: Global Offensive). The grand final was taking place in Dnipro from November 28 to December 1.

“Ukrainian Esport Federation has hosted over 90 tournaments this year, all of which were held offline. We traveled 33,000 kilometers when we were organizing qualifiers of the first esports championship in Ukraine in every region. We visited even those parts of our country that do not have facilities intended for hosting championships,” the president of UESF Artur Yermolayev commented.

Esports Ukraine federation is involved in the development of esports, hosts championships and tournaments in different disciplines, and implements specialized training programs. Besides, with the support of Kyivstar, the federation hosted the all-Ukrainian online Dota 2 tournament with 100,000 UAH prize fund in 2017. It also founded a streaming platform called CyberStar Academy and organized over 1,500 online tournaments on its own platform GG.ua.

Some of its biggest events are Dota 2 TURBO tournament, three biggest all-Ukrainian student tournaments supported by the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine – UUOpen 2018, University Master Cup 2019, and UUOpen 2019 Winter Cup, featuring over 150 higher education institutions of the country and over 300 teams.

The federation hosted the world’s first International tournament for pupils, the grand finale of which took place at NSC Olimpiyskiy Stadium in Kyiv with the participation of teams from five countries: Germany, Poland, Georgia, Taiwan, and Ukraine. Moreover, the federation has announced the start of the country’s first official esports master’s degree program at the National University of Ukraine on Physical Education and Sport this year. Esports Ukraine is the partner of this educational direction and actively participates in its realization and development.

“This year has been very productive for our organization and we have already planned a number of events for the next year. In 2020, Esports Ukraine is going to hold a number of national events, in particular, to develop a system of ranks to replace the traditional master of sports,” reports the president of the organization Ivan Danishevsky.

Esports Soccer Federation of Ukraine, ESFU. The organization that has been involved in the development of esports soccer in Ukraine since 2016. It trains, hires, and supports talented cyber football players and regularly hosts FIFA Kyiv Cup. It has organized the Ukrainian FIFA 16 League, as well as tens of small amateur tournaments.

Last year, the organization has founded FINT Esports Academy, where lecturers are well-known esports players. ESFU supports the development of the official esports master’s degree program at the National University of Ukraine on Physical Education and Sport.

"At the end of 2019, we are hosting several large all-Ukrainian events. We thank the Ukrainian Association of Football and Ukrainian Premier League for the support and readiness to develop the esports field,” notes the president of the ESFU Arseniy Salay. “Thanks to this collaboration, we have managed to bring this discipline to the global arena for the first time ever in the history of the national cyber football by hosting tournaments under the aegis of simulator developers and global football associations”.

This August, the federation has announced the participation in the European Esports Soccer Championship qualifier, implying the formation of a national team. Basing on the results of the qualifier, the best Ukrainian cyber-football players will take part in the European competitions in the spring of 2020. On November 30 and December 7, 2019, all fans of esports and cyber-football could watch the grand finals of the All-Ukrainian PES and FIFA championships.

Esports championships and festivals in 2019
Esports championships and festivals in 2019

Tournaments in different esports disciplines are regularly hosted in Ukraine, including events of the international level. StarCraft II World Championship Series (in WCS Korea and WCS Circuit ecosystems) took place in Kyiv in 2019. The organizer of WCS Spring and WCS Summer was StarLadder. Besides, the third minor of Dota 2 2018/2019 took place at Kyiv Cybersport Arena.

Furthermore, a growing number of local and amateur competitions take place in the country. For example, the fifth WEGAME festival hosted WEGAME CyberZone Cup, involving Dota 2, CS: GO, and PUBG tournaments. FIFA tournament was organized at the festival with the support of FINT Esports Academy.

On June 13, the capital of Ukraine hosted the second conference dedicated to esports issues eSPORTconf Ukraine, where experts discussed prospects of the industry development and possibilities for making a profit in the industry. Speakers were representatives of Ukrainian esports organizations, marketing agencies, and esports platforms.

Expert opinion: how esports will develop in 2020

In 2019, many significant events of both local and global scale took place in the esports field of Ukraine: tournaments and competitions, themed events, events organized by esports organizations. Specialists believe that the next year will be no less eventful.

“This year, we had a series of cool events such as WePlay, StarLadder, large championships from UESF and Esports Ukraine. Basing on the existing state of affairs, I can conclude that the next year will be more than successful,” Arseniy Salay (ESFU) says. “I am very glad to watch powerful tournaments of esports clubs. For example, the Odesa-based Skill club hosts events with the official support of the city administration; esports clubs organize regular tournaments in Kyiv and other cities”.

Other industry experts also note the growth of interest in esports. For example, after the Ukrainian esports championship with tournaments in regions, many entrepreneurs saw huge industry opportunities and started opening computer clubs in their towns: five new clubs were opened with the support of the UESF this year.

"We are not going to lose momentum in 2020. Currently, we are negotiating with potential partners for the next season,” Artur Yermolayev (UESF) reports. "We are planning to host even more tournaments. Now UESF is working hard to make esports officially recognized as sports in Ukraine in 2020”.

For the industry to develop faster, it is important to get the support of authorities at both local and all-Ukrainian levels.

“Currently, the industry itself and Ukrainian esports brands provoke a growing interest, in particular from the new administration of the country. I think that the support of the government will give the possibility to develop esports at a new level,” Ivan Danishevsky (Esports Ukraine) thinks. “There are prerequisites for this, but nobody knows how things will actually develop”.


Follow the latest news from the world of esports.

 

News

Avid Cat Lover and Founder of Cat&Cat Games Konsta... Avid Cat Lover and Founder of Cat&Cat Games Konsta...

Founder of Cat&Cat Games Konstantin Ramenskii will be a jury member at WEGAME Awards...

Founder of Cat&Cat Games Konstantin Ramenskii will be a jury...

31 March 2020
Beatshapers Founder Alexey Menshikov to Judge WEGA... Beatshapers Founder Alexey Menshikov to Judge WEGA...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Alexey Menshikov, a great developer, VR expert and...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Alexey Menshikov, a great...

23 March 2020
Registration to WEGAME Awards is Extended Till May... Registration to WEGAME Awards is Extended Till May...

Dates of WEGAME 6.0 have been changed – this year, festival will take place...

Dates of WEGAME 6.0 have been changed – this year,...

18 March 2020

Украина в esports-дисциплинах: как развивается отечественный киберспорт. Экспертное мнение

24 декабря 2019 Украина в esports-дисциплинах: как развивается отечественный киберспорт. Экспертное мнение

По прогнозам аналитиков NewZoo, к 2022 году объемы мирового киберспортивного рынка вырастут до $1,5 млрд. В Украине киберспорт пока не признан официально, но это не мешает украинским командам побеждать на мировых чемпионатах, а индустрии в стране – развиваться.

Как развивался украинский киберспорт

Киберспортивные команды из Украины на протяжении нескольких лет принимают участие в мировых чемпионатах, занимают призовые места и демонстрируют высокие результаты. Первые состязания проводились на локальном уровне: все начиналось с игр в компьютерных клубах, а разделения на профессионалов и аматоров еще не было. Постепенно в Украине стали появляться первые площадки, где можно было проводить крупные турниры.

Еще в 2001 году в Украине состоялся отбор на чемпионат мира по киберспорту World Cyber Games. Туры при поддержке компании Samsung проходили по всей Украине, а победители участвовали в международных соревнованиях. После начали появляться и другие крупные турниры, например, ASUS Open. В 2012 году в Украине открылась площадка StarLadder, где несколько раз в год проходили состязания по CS:GO, Point Blank, Dota 2, League of Legends, World of Tanks.

В 2010-м в столице появилась «Киев Киберспорт Арена». Площадь центра составляет 1500 квадратных метров, помещение оборудовано всем необходимым для проведения LAN-турниров. Еще до официального открытия там прошел шоу-матч Arbalet Cup Best of Four, в котором приняли участие лучшие мировые команды по Counter-Strike, а победила – Natus Vincere. Также в «Киев Киберспорт Арена» проходили чемпионаты серии ASUS Open, финал мирового Counter-Strike IEM European Finals в 2011 году и чемпионаты по StarCraft II.

Но своими киберспортивными достижениями может похвастаться не только столица: в 2018 году в Днепре открылась собственная киберспортивная площадка – Windigo Arena. Ее размеры составляют 1100 квадратных метров, технически центр обеспечен всем необходимым для проведения масштабных кибертурниров.

Украинские киберспортсмены и команды

федерации киберспорта

Украинские киберспортсмены демонстрируют высокие результаты в турнирах по различным дисциплинам, а некоторые входят в мировые рейтинги по заработку на призовых. Большинство популярных кибератлетов сколотили состояние и сделали карьеру в Dota 2. Среди них Роман «Resolut1on» Фоминок, Владимир «No[o]ne» Миненко, Данил «Dendi» Ишутин, Александр «ХВОСТ» Дашкевич и другие.

Самые известные киберспортсмены Украины играют или играли в составе команды Na’Vi (Natus Vincere). Этот коллектив стал по-настоящему легендарным: он был основан в 2010-м, а уже в следующем году победил на The International – масштабнейшем мировом турнире по Dota 2. Тогда команда получила $1 млн призовых.

Кроме того, украинские киберспортсмены показывают хорошие результаты по дисциплинам FIFA, PUBG, CS:GO.

Украинские федерации киберспорта

Немалое значение для развития киберспортивной индустрии в стране имеют специальные организации, которые оказывают поддержку спортсменам, проводят турниры и организовывают обучающие курсы. В Украине их насчитывается несколько, но только 3 ведут активную деятельность.

Федерация киберспорта Украины, Ukrainian Esport Federation, UESF

Была основана в 2018 году в Днепре. Официально зарегистрирована как всеукраинская общественная организация с региональными представительствами в каждой области. Ukrainian Esports Federation занимается продвижением и популяризацией киберспорта, проводит турниры и поддерживает талантливых игроков.

Федерация сотрудничает с esports-организацией Windigo Gaming (в частности, поддерживает ее образовательную программу), порталом XSPORT, NCL. В этом году UESF провела первый чемпионат Украины по киберспорту с призовым фондом в 1 млн грн (дисциплины Dota 2 и Counter-Strike: Global Offensive). Гранд-финал проходил в Днепре с 28 ноября по 1 декабря.

«Федерация киберспорта Украины в этом году провела более 90 турниров, и все эти чемпионаты проходили исключительно офлайн. Мы проехали 33 тысячи километров, в каждой области организовывая квалификации к первому чемпионату Украины по киберспорту. Посетили даже те уголки нашей страны, в которых вовсе нет площадок для проведения чемпионатов», – прокомментировал президент UESF Артур Ермолаев.

Федерация «Киберспорт Украины», Esports Ukraine

Занимается развитием киберспорта, проводит чемпионаты и турниры по различным дисциплинам, а также внедряет программы специализированного обучения. Кроме того, в 2017 году при поддержке компании Kyivstar федерация провела Всеукраинский онлайн-турнир по Dota 2 с призовым фондом в 100 тыс. грн. Также основала стриминг-платформу CyberStar Academy и организовала более 1500 онлайн-турниров на собственной платформе GG.ua.

Среди ее крупнейших ивентов: турнир по Dota 2 в формате TURBO, три крупнейших Всеукраинских студенческих турнира при поддержке МОН Украины – UUOpen 2018, University Master Cup 2019 и UUOpen 2019 Winter Cup, в которых приняло участие более 150 высших учебных заведений страны и более 300 команд.

Федерация первой в мире провела Международный турнир среди школьников, гранд-финал которого состоялся в Киеве на НСК «Олимпийский», а участие приняли команды из пяти стран: Германии, Польши, Грузии, Тайваня и Украины. К тому же в этом году организация объявила о наборе на первую в стране официальную магистерскую программу обучения киберспорту в Национальном университете физического воспитания и спорта Украины. Esports Ukraine выступает партнером этого образовательного направления и активно участвует в его реализации и развитии.

«Этот год был очень продуктивным для нашей организации, и мы уже запланировали серию мероприятий на следующий. В 2020 году Esports Ukraine собирается провести ряд национальных событий, в частности – разработать систему званий на замену классическим мастерам спорта», – сообщает президент организации Иван Данишевский.

Федерация киберфутбола Украины, ESFU

Организация, которая с 2016 года занимается развитием киберфутбола в Украине: обучает, устраивает на работу и поддерживает талантливых киберфутболистов. Регулярно проводит FIFA Kyiv Cup, организовала Всеукраинскую лигу по FIFA 16, а также десятки любительских турниров малого формата.

В прошлом году организация основала Академию киберфутбола FINT, где преподавателями выступают известные киберспортсмены. ESFU также поддерживает создание официальной магистерской программы по направлению «Киберспорт» в НУФКСУ.

«В конце 2019 года мы проводим несколько масштабных всеукраинских ивентов, спасибо Украинской ассоциации футбола и Украинской Премьер-лиге за поддержку и готовность развивать киберфутбольное направление, – отмечает президент Федерации киберфутбола Украины Арсений Салай. – Именно благодаря этому сотрудничеству мы смогли впервые в истории отечественного киберфутбола вывести эту дисциплину на мировую арену, проводя турниры под эгидой разработчиков симуляторов и мировых футбольных ассоциаций».

В августе этого года федерация объявила об участии в отборе на чемпионат Европы по киберфутболу, то есть о создании национальной сборной. По результатам отборов лучшие украинские киберфутболисты поедут на европейские состязания, которые состоятся весной 2020 года. 30 ноября и 7 декабря 2019 года все любители киберспорта и киберфутбола могли присоединиться к просмотру гранд-финалов Всеукраинских чемпионатов по PES и FIFA.

Киберспортивные чемпионаты и фестивали в 2019 году

киберспортивные чемпионаты

В Украине регулярно проводятся турниры по различным киберспортивным дисциплинам, в том числе международного уровня. В 2019 году в Киеве проходили состязания по StarCraft II World Championship Series (в экосистемах WCS Korea и WCS Circuit). Организатором WCS Spring и WCS Summer выступила команда StarLadder. Также весной в «Киберспорт Арена» состоялся третий майнор сезона 2018/2019 по Dota 2.

Кроме того, в стране проводится все больше локальных и любительских состязаний. Так, на пятом WEGAME состоялся WEGAME CyberZone Cup, в рамках которого прошли турниры по дисциплинам Dota 2, CS:GO и PUBG. Также при поддержке FINT Esports Academy на фестивале провели состязание по FIFA.

13 июня этого года в столице Украины состоялась уже вторая конференция по вопросам киберспорта eSPORTconf Ukraine, где эксперты обсуждали перспективы развития отрасли и возможности заработка в ней. Спикерами ивента выступили представители киберспортивных организаций Украины, маркетинговых агентств и esports-платформ.

Мнение экспертов: как будет развиваться киберспорт в 2020 году

В 2019 году в киберспортивной сфере Украины произошло много значимых событий как локального, так и мирового масштаба: проводились турниры и состязания, тематические ивенты, события от киберспортивных организаций. По мнению специалистов, следующий год обещает стать не менее насыщенным.

«В этом году мы получили серию крутых ивентов – WePlay, StarLadder, крупные чемпионаты от UESF и Esports Ukraine. Исходя из текущего положения дел, я могу сделать вывод, что следующий год будет более чем успешным, – говорит Арсений Салай (ESFU). – Очень радостно наблюдать за мощными турнирами от киберклубов. К примеру, Skill club в Одессе проводит мероприятия при официальной поддержке мэрии, также проходят регулярные турниры от киберклубов в Киеве и других городах».

Рост интереса к киберспорту в стране отмечают и другие эксперты индустрии. Так, после киберспортивного чемпионата Украины с турнирами в регионах многие предприниматели увидели огромные перспективы отрасли и начали открывать компьютерные клубы в своих городах: в этом году при поддержке UESF их появилось пять.

«В 2020 году мы не собираемся сбавлять обороты. Сейчас ведутся переговоры с потенциальными партнерами на следующий сезон, – сообщает Артур Ермолаев (UESF). – Мы планируем проводить еще больше турниров. Сейчас UESF усиленно работает над тем, чтобы в 2020 году в Украине киберспорт официально был признан спортом».

Чтобы индустрия развивалась быстрее, важно получить содействие со стороны властей – как на локальном, так и на Всеукраинском уровне.

«Сейчас сама индустрия и бренды в украинском киберспорте вызывают все больший интерес, в частности он исходит и от новой власти страны. Думаю, именно при поддержке государства есть возможность развивать киберспорт на новом уровне, – считает Иван Данишевский (Esports Ukraine). – Предпосылки к этому есть, а как будет на самом деле, на данный момент неизвестно».


Следи за самыми свежими и актуальными новостями из мира киберспорта.

 

Интересные новости

Рейтинг лучших киберспортсменов от HLTV.org и даты... Рейтинг лучших киберспортсменов от HLTV.org и даты...

Удалось ли украинцу «s1mple» из Na’Vi третий раз подряд стать лучшим игроком мира по...

Удалось ли украинцу «s1mple» из Na’Vi третий раз подряд стать...

24 января 2020
Получай подарки и сражайся в гейм-баттлах на фести... Получай подарки и сражайся в гейм-баттлах на фести...

11-12 апреля в столичном Международном выставочном центре (МВЦ) состоится шестой фестиваль для гиков и...

11-12 апреля в столичном Международном выставочном центре (МВЦ) состоится шестой...

24 января 2020
Психологи в киберспорте: особенности профессии Психологи в киберспорте: особенности профессии

Психологи давно востребованы в традиционном спорте, но для отрасли esports эта профессия относительно новая....

Психологи давно востребованы в традиционном спорте, но для отрасли esports...

21 января 2020