“Toss a Coin to Your Witcher!” Feedbacks about the New Series by Netflix

26 December 2019 “Toss a Coin to Your Witcher!” Feedbacks about the New Series by Netflix

The Witcher series, the shooting of which provoked loads of arguments and resentment among fans, has finally come out. Most fans and critics have already assessed eight episodes presented by Netflix on one day. What do people say about the new Witcher? Has the series met the expectations?

Official data: ranking on Rotten Tomatoes and IMDb

ranking The Witcher

The first season of The Witcher starring Henry Cavill was available on Netflix on Friday, December 20, and many people have already watched it during the weekend. The series based on the books by Andrzej Sapkowski caused true hype among fans even before the release. People were expecting the worse, forecasting poor acting and total inconsistency with the spirit of the books. However, the official figures show that things are not that bad.

Three days after the release, the ranking of the series on IMDb was 8.9 of 10 possible points with 57,000 people who voted. The third, seventh, and eighth episodes got the highest marks (over 9 points).

On the well-known website of reviews and critical feedbacks Rotten Tomatoes, The Witcher got even more points from viewers: three days after the release, 92% of the audience approved it. Critics of Rotten Tomatoes were stricter to the long-rumored film adaptation of the fantasy books by the Polish writer: only 58% assessed the series positively.

Opinions of professionals: strict and relentless

Many critics shared short feedbacks before the official release on social media, and after December 20, they showed what they could do to the fullest. Some compared The Witcher with Game of Thrones in terms of battle scenes and some actions, while others criticized flat characters and the appearance of heroes.

Entertainment Weekly characterized the series as extremely boring, not forgetting to assess Geralt’s bouffant hair critically. They ironically described his hair like the brightest thing in the first episode. Anyway, that feedback looks like a cavil and has already caused many raised eyebrows: viewers criticized the biased and prejudiced attitude of the author to The Witcher.

The series got feedback that is more positive from the New York Times, which appraised the humor, high visual quality, and did not forget to compare the adaptation with Game of Thrones. Critics of Variety noted excellent video effects and drama of the story about the Witcher but criticized the poor work on characters.

The author from Slant Magazine praised the featured actor Henry Cavill and his talent: the critic believes that the actor managed to get rid of the phantom of the Superman role quickly and to settle into the role of Geralt. At the same time, the author criticized the dynamics of the development of leading characters.

Beyond expectations: what viewers say?

Despite the great number of bitchy memes, angry feedbacks, tons of sarcasm and discontent with the cast and the general image of The Witcher, viewers have overall positive opinions after the release of the series. “Everything turned out not that bad,” is a rather popular kind of feedback on the Internet. This relates to both those who read the original works by Sapkowski and those who have just become acquainted with the world of the series.

The Witcher memes

“Toss a coin to your Witcher” – this line is popular on the Internet, filling the posts on Twitter and other social media. It is literally sung in text format, using Caps Lock and punnily cited in the jokes about freelancers and employers (and not only). Especially smart fans of the series have already united two top memes in one: about Mandalorian and Witcher.

What are the faults of The Witcher?

 the presence of dark-skinned elves

The keynote claim of true fans of books by Andrzej Sapkowski is the inconsistency of characters, distortion of storylines, and superfluous pathos. However, one should not forget that The Witcher by Netflix is not an exact film version but just an adaptation. The series relies on events of original books but is built according to the rules of the video format and is rich in storyline revamps and supplements.

The other aspects that viewers did not like include the loss of the atmosphere of the Slavic world as well as the presence of dark-skinned elves as non-canonical characters. The next by its popularity claim is the one to the costumes, in particular, the armor of Nilfgaard warriors: this theme also caused some memes on the Internet and the resentment of true fans.

Due to the critics that started after the release of trailers, creators of the series said goodbye to the costume designer of the first season Tim Aslam in the middle of shooting. Instead, they hired Lucinda Wright (Henry VIII and Doctor Who), the costume designer awarded by BAFTA. Anyway, she will be able to show her worth in the second season of The Witcher.

What is next?

The shooting of the next season was announced before the release of the first eight episodes: the process will start in the winter of 2020 and the new season is expected to come out in 2021. Meanwhile, the showrunner Lauren Hissrich answered the critics in one of her Tweets. She said that she was not going to get sad about negative feedbacks and noted that she appreciated the opinion of true fans.

Have you already watched The Witcher by Netflix? Share your opinion on our social media pages!


Follow the events from the world of video games and series in the news section!

News

Beatshapers Founder Alexey Menshikov to Judge WEGA... Beatshapers Founder Alexey Menshikov to Judge WEGA...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Alexey Menshikov, a great developer, VR expert and...

Meet a judge of WEGAME Awards: Alexey Menshikov, a great...

23 March 2020
Registration to WEGAME Awards is Extended Till May... Registration to WEGAME Awards is Extended Till May...

Dates of WEGAME 6.0 have been changed – this year, festival will take place...

Dates of WEGAME 6.0 have been changed – this year,...

18 March 2020
Attention! New Dates of Registration to WEGAME 6.0... Attention! New Dates of Registration to WEGAME 6.0...

Due to rescheduling the game and geek culture festival for June 13-14, we are...

Due to rescheduling the game and geek culture festival for...

17 March 2020

«Ведьмаку заплатите чеканной монетой!» – отзывы о новом сериале от Netflix

26 декабря 2019 «Ведьмаку заплатите чеканной монетой!» – отзывы о новом сериале от Netflix

Сериал «Ведьмак», съемки которого вызвали массу споров и возмущений поклонников, наконец-то увидел свет. Восемь эпизодов, представленных Netflix в один день, уже успело оценить большинство фанатов и критиков. Что же говорят о новом ведьмаке и оправдал ли он ожидания?

Официальные данные: рейтинги на «томатах» и IMDb

Ведьмак рейтинг

Первый сезон «Ведьмака» с Генри Кавиллом в главной роли появился на Netflix в пятницу 20 декабря, и многие уже успели оценить его за выходные. Сериал по мотивам книг Анджея Сапковского еще до выхода вызвал настоящие бурления среди поклонников произведения, так что хайп получился знатный. От «Ведьмака» ожидали худшего – пророчили ужасную актерскую игру и полное несоответствие духу произведения. Но, судя по официальным цифрам, все не так уж и плохо.

Спустя три дня после выхода рейтинг сериала на сайте IMDb составил 8,9 из 10 возможных звездочек при 57 тысячах проголосовавших. Самую высокую оценку получили третий, седьмой и восьмой эпизоды (больше 9 баллов).

На известном сайте обзоров и критических отзывов Rotten Tomatoes «Ведьмак» получил еще больше баллов от зрителей: спустя трое суток после выхода его одобрили 92% аудитории. Критики «томатов» были намного строже к нашумевшей адаптации фэнтези-книг польского писателя: лишь 58% оценили сериал позитивно.

Мнения профессионалов: строгие и безжалостные

Краткими отзывами многие критики делились в своих соцсетях еще до официального выхода эпизодов, а уж после 20 декабря развернулись по полной. Одни сравнили «Ведьмака» с «Игрой престолов» в плане батальных сцен и некоторых сюжетных ходов, другие – критиковали плоские образы персонажей, а также внешний вид героев.

Entertainment Weekly и вовсе охарактеризовал сериал как ужасно скучный, к тому же не забыв критически оценить слишком пышную прическу Геральта. Волосы ведьмака они иронично охарактеризовали как самую яркую вещь в первом эпизоде. Впрочем, весь этот отзыв выглядит как придирка и уже вызвал недоумение публики: зрители раскритиковали предвзятое и необъективное отношение автора материала к «Ведьмаку».

Более позитивные отзывы сериал получил от New York Times, которая оценила юмор в шоу, высокое визуальное качество адаптации, а также не забыла сравнить сериал с «Игрой престолов». Рецензенты Variety отметили отличные видеоэффекты и драматургию новой истории о ведьмаке, но раскритиковали слабоватую проработку персонажей.

Автор из Slant Magazine похвалил исполнителя главной роли Генри Кавилла и его талант: по мнению рецензента, актеру удалось быстро избавиться от призрака роли Супермена и полностью вжиться в образ Геральта. При этом критике автора подверглась динамика, с которой развиваются линии главных персонажей.

Превыше ожиданий: что говорят зрители

Несмотря на обилие злобных мемов, гневных отзывов, тонн сарказма и недовольства по поводу каста и общей картинки «Ведьмака», мнения зрителей после выхода сериала в целом позитивные. «Все оказалось не так уж и плохо», – довольно популярный тип отзыва от публики в Сети. Причем это касается и тех, кто читал оригинальные произведения пана Сапковского, и тех, кто только познакомился с миром.

Зрители отдельно отмечают убедительную актерскую игру, хорошо поставленные поединки героев, а также особенности фигуры исполнителя главной роли, выразительно обтянутые кожаными штанами. Особое внимание досталось такому персонажу, как бард Лютик, а одна из его песен даже стала вирусной.

ведьмак мемы

«Ведьмаку заплатите чеканной монетой!» – версия из русскоязычного дубляжа сериала разлетелась по Сети, заполонила посты в «Твиттере» и прочих соцсетях. Ее буквально напевают в текстовом формате с помощью Caps lock и удачно цитируют в шутках о фрилансерах и заказчиках (и не только). Особо шустрые любители сериалов уже совместили два топовых мема в одном: мандалорца и ведьмака.

Чем не угодил «Ведьмак»

Эльфы из "Ведьмака"

Главная претензия истинных фанатов книг Анджея Сапковского – несоответствие образов, перекручивание сюжетных линий и чрезмерная пафосность. Впрочем, не стоит забывать, что версия «Ведьмака» от Netflix – это не точная экранизация, а всего лишь адаптация. Сериал основан на событиях оригинальных произведений, но выстроен согласно законам видеоформата, а также богат на сюжетные новшества и дополнения.

Среди прочих моментов, которые не понравились зрителям, называют утрату атмосферы славянского мира, а также наличие темнокожих эльфов как неканоничных персонажей. Следующая по своей популярности – претензия к костюмам сериала, в частности броне воинов Нильфгарда: эта тема тоже вызвала появление мемов в Интернете и возмущение истинных фанов.

Из-за критики, которая началась еще после выхода трейлеров, с костюмером первого сезона Тимом Асланом создатели шоу попрощались еще в середине съемок. Вместо него на работу взяли Люсинду Райт («Генрих VIII» и «Доктор Кто») – художника по костюмам, которая была отмечена премией BAFTA. Впрочем, проявить себя по полной она сможет лишь во втором сезоне «Ведьмака».

А что дальше?

О съемках следующего сезона было объявлено еще до выхода первых восьми эпизодов: процесс начнется уже зимой 2020 года, а выйдет продолжение «Ведьмака» предположительно в 2021-м. Шоураннер сериала Лорен Хиссрич тем временем ответила на критику в одном из своих твитов. Она заявила, что не собирается расстраиваться из-за негативных отзывов от критиков, и отдельно отметила, что ей куда более важно мнение настоящих фанатов.

А ты уже оценил нового «Ведьмака» от Netflix? Делись своим мнением на наших страницах в соцсетях!


Следи за событиями из мира видеоигр и сериалов в разделе «Новости»!

Интересные новости

Рейтинг лучших киберспортсменов от HLTV.org и даты... Рейтинг лучших киберспортсменов от HLTV.org и даты...

Удалось ли украинцу «s1mple» из Na’Vi третий раз подряд стать лучшим игроком мира по...

Удалось ли украинцу «s1mple» из Na’Vi третий раз подряд стать...

24 января 2020
Получай подарки и сражайся в гейм-баттлах на фести... Получай подарки и сражайся в гейм-баттлах на фести...

11-12 апреля в столичном Международном выставочном центре (МВЦ) состоится шестой фестиваль для гиков и...

11-12 апреля в столичном Международном выставочном центре (МВЦ) состоится шестой...

24 января 2020
Психологи в киберспорте: особенности профессии Психологи в киберспорте: особенности профессии

Психологи давно востребованы в традиционном спорте, но для отрасли esports эта профессия относительно новая....

Психологи давно востребованы в традиционном спорте, но для отрасли esports...

21 января 2020